Hugh and Kathy are winners at 25th Balla 10k

The 25th Balla 10k took place on Saturday evening in good running conditions – just a couple of light refreshing showers during the race.

The traditional one lap course always proves a tough test for competitors. The clear winner again this year was Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) in an excellent time 31:51 an eight second improvement on 2016, but almost half a minute outside Freddie Sittuk’s 2013 course record. Hugh led from the start and  was out on his own all the way. John Byrne ran gamely for second in 34:23, followed home by regular Mayo visitor Con Marshall from Cork St Finbarrs AC in 35:34. Co Sligo club Corran AC won two of the men’s age category prizes – Brendan Brett M50, and Joe Stagg M60.

Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) is a regular race winner and in great form currently. She was also a clear winner of  the women’s race in 38:55.  Mayo AC runners Colette Tuohy (40:39) and Sarah Syron finished second and third respectively, with Sarah closing the gap between them all the way to the line. Brilliant running by Mayo AC’s Angela O’Connor won her the  o50 women’s section again – she  was five seconds faster than last year in 41:55. GCH athletes Jerome Debize  and Claire Rowe won the o40 categories.

Thanks to the Gardai, Order of Malta,  Ronnie and Colm Naylor who compiled the results, the timekeepers, stewards all round the course, the water station crew, and especially the refreshments team at the Community Centre race HQ, and all who helped with the event

Presentation in recognition of 25 years as organiser: l-r Patricia Conwell, Brendan Conwell, John Timothy and Trisha Carty

It was a big day for Balla supremo Brendan Conwell. He has organised the race since it started in 1993, and this significant and unique achievement was recognised by a presentation of an inscribed crystal vase by Mayo AC Secretary Trisha Carty and Treasurer John Timothy.

Prizes were presented by the winners of the first Balla race in 1993 – Paddy Murray (Mayo AC) who did the honours for the men, and Bernie Stankard (GCH) for the women.

The race was part of the 2017 Mayo AC Vodafone C&C Cellular Club League and points will be assessed and included in the women’s and men’s tables during next week.

Look out for more photographs on our facebook pages.

The next Club League event is the National Half Marathon in Dublin on August 13.

Prizewinners 25th Annual Balla 10k:

1 Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) 31:51
2 John Byrne (Mayo AC) 34:23
3  Con Marshall (St Finbarr’s AC) 35:34

M40 1 Jerome Debize (GCH) 36:52

M50: 1 Brendan Brett (Corran AC) 40:36

M60 Joe Stagg (Corran AC) 45;04

under 20 Men: Joe Laffey (Invicta East Kent) 38:58

Men Team 1 Mayo AC – John Byrne , Sean Murphy, Pat Morrison

1 Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 38:55,
2  Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 40:39,

3 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 40:58

W40  1 Claire Rowe (GCH) 43:16

W50 : 1 Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC) 41:55

W60 Lineke Beltman 61:41

U20 Esther Laffey 45:51

Women Team 1: Mayo AC – Colette Tuohy, Angela O’Connor, Sarah Syron

results: Balla 10k – Results 2017

Upcoming Events