Historic day at Hollymount 10k











This afternoon the village of Hollymount welcomed athletes back for the 57th edition of their annual Road Races.


As usual the excellent local organising team were on duty at the Community Centre, delighted to see familiar faces pick up bibs and t-shirts. The annual visitors from Liverpool had arrived – ten travelled this year – led for the umpteenth time by Neil Chester.




A 10k race for both men and women was contested for the first time. It replaced the longstanding programme which included a separate 6k for women and 10k for men. The change has been muted for some time. Though not universally popular most runners feel it’s a move with the times.




Typical Hollymount weather and ‘not a bad day for November’ as race founder Sean Reilly put it – bright sunshine, a chilly breeze and 8°C round the 3k lap course and most important local showers kept their distance. A good day for running.


The course start is just round the corner from the main street and competitors finish at the top of village having completed three laps on mainly single track slightly undulating roads.





Top three Hollymount 10k l-r 3rd Eamonn Joyce Mayo AC, 1st Michael Flanagan GCH, 2nd David Hickey Westport AC









This year’s 10k winner was Michael Flanagan GCH in 35:41. He had a ding-dong race up front with second placed David Hickey Westport AC 35:48. Eamonn Joyce Mayo AC recovered sufficiently from his brilliant recent Dublin Marathon and moved up into third place on the final lap to cross the line in 35:50.


Head to head at Hollymount 2nd placed David Hickey in red, with winner Michael Flanagan on right









Sean Reilly reminded us at prizegiving that it was a unique day for the event results – it was the first time in the event’s 57 year history that a father and son won the race. Tom Flanagan, father of today’s winner Michael, won the race back in 1967!


The women’s race winner was Mayo AC’s Norah Newcombe Pieterse – she finished seventh overall making a successful return to racing with a comfortable win in a great time 38:06.

Sarah Byrne was always going well and ran a well paced race to come home in an excellent second place in 40.13.


Mayo AC newcomer and Hollymount native Aisling Bell was third making it a podium finish for the club – she ran 43:01.




Hollymount 10k Category prizewinners were:




o40: Andrew Hayes Mayo AC’s second finisher in 37:09


o50: Ian Egan 38:59 – he ran his first Hollymount 10k as a nineteen-year old in 1986!


O60: Tommy Neville 39:57




o40: Deirdre Moran Smyth 43:17


o50: Patricia Brennan 48:46


O60: Mags Glavey Mayo AC 47:43 – looking fresh and well recovered from her International Cross-Country success last weekend.

Other Mayo AC finishers:

Mayo AC leading out at Hollymount L-r Andrew Hayes 4th, Michael Kelly 6th, Norah Newcombe Pieterse first woman, Eamonn Joyce 3rd (photo credit John S O’Connor)

Michael Kelly an excellent 6th overall 37:51

Andy Neary 40:21

Johnny Cribbin 43:29

Paula Donnellan 43:50

Mikey McAndrew 44:22

Tony O’Malley 44:35

Jimmy Feeney 48:47

Noelle Kilduff 49:48

Joan Walsh 52:01

Colette McTigue 63:48


Sean Reilly thanked everyone who made the day possible –  organisers, stewards, and refreshments providers.

Well done to all of our members who supported Hollymount today. Congratulations to the prizewinners.

Hollymount 10k results:Senior Results 2022

Next race on road is Belleek 10k December 4.

Upcoming Events