Gleniff Horseshoe 10k, Clew Bay Half Marathon, Streets of Galway 8k

The Gleniff Horseshoe 10k on Friday evening was the fifth race in
Sligo Credit Union Road League. The race takes place in the panoramic
setting of  the glaciated limestone valley beneath the hills behind
Ben Bulben. Who runs for the scenery! There is a category 4 climb over
the first 3k when the elevation rises from 73m to 244m; the climb
continues but after 5k there is a fast downhill stretch to the finish
at Ballintrillick. It is tough but exhilarating.

Emmett Dunleavy (Sligo AC) won in 33.51 – he won 8k race at Collooney recently in
25.56. Una McCool (N Sligo AC) was first woman in 42.57. Tom Hunt
(Mayo AC) was 26th overall and 1st o60 in 41.51. His 5k splits tell
the story 23.14/18.37; slowest k 5.40, fastest 3.29. There were 196
finishers in this value for money €12 event. Afterwards they enjoyed a
splendid array of refreshments, and a presentation where you could
hear every word. All proceeds went to North Sligo Playground Group.

On Saturday the Clew Bay Half Marathon took place at Louisburgh over a
one lap loop course – reported to be tough. Results not available,
times approx. Garrett Coughlan (Crusaders) was the winner in 73. John
Byrne was second in 74.37 ahead of regular Mayo visitor Paul Moran 78.
Robert Malseed was 4th in 79. The woman’s race was won by Armagh
athlete in 1.28. Sarah Syron was second in 1.37. Other known Mayo AC
finishers included Billy Gallagher in 1.24, Michael McNeela 1.31,
Michael Sweeney 1.34, Chris O’Connell 1.51. Good prizes, plenty
refreshments made this an enjoyable event for the 150 participants.

On Saturday evening the 26th Streets of Galway 8k took place.
Gerry Ryan (Craughwell AC) won in 24.24 and the first woman was
Rosemary Ryan (Bilboa AC) in 27.30.
Raheny Shamrock AC won both mens’ and women’s team prizes.

Listed Mayo AC in finishing order:

Timmy Glavey 27.14 ( 21st overall)
Brendan Hession 30.10 pb
Colette Tuohy F40 30.35
Derval Devaney 31.09
Sean Murphy 31.19
Ronnie Naylor M50 31.28
Ann Lennon F40 31.33
Kathy Connolly 31.43
PJ Hall M50 33.43
Owen Mongan M55 33.49
Christy O’Malley M40 34.51
Dave Huane 35.51
Tony Gleeson 36.16 pb
Mary Naylor F50 37.42
Patricia Carty 39.17
Una McGrath F50 40.44 pb
Margaret Hession F40 41.49
Linda O’Connor 48.40

Upcoming Events