Ger and Kathy are winners at Ballyhaunis 8k

The Annual RunWest Ballyhaunis Fit4Life 8k took place over the familiar one lap course on Saturday evening June 17. The race is part of  Mayo AC’s  Vodafone C&C Cellular 2017 Club League with points to be won by club members. Conditions were tough as temperatures rose on a glorious summer evening. After the start on Main St the field of 85 runners and walkers turned off the Claremorris road and took on the climb from 3-5k,  which always provides an extra challenge. From there it’s a long straight downhill run to the finish on Doctor’s road. 

The race winner was Ger Hartnett (Ryan AC) in 29:37 and he  led home two Mayo AC runners Brendan Hession 29:49, and Seán Murphy 30:25

Kathy Gleeson at 5k mark on way to win women’s race

Kathy Gleeson was the clear winner of the women’s race in 31:17, repeating her 2016 victory.  Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) struggled in the heat but finished a creditable second place in 36:12 with clubmate Angela McVann in third. The event hosts Ballyhaunis Fit4Life had a good turnout – they competed for prizes over the local terrain and Justin McDonagh was first of their crew to finish in 37:07.

The event was well organised by Ballyhaunis Fit4Life led by Martin Fitzmaurice and his excellent team and they also provided welcome refreshments for all at prize giving in the Rugby Club. He thanked the event sponsors, chief among them Dawn Meats and TC Fitness. Thanks also to the Gardai, Order of Malta for their services in support of the event.

Full Results:

(thanks to Colm, Ronnie Naylor)

Ger Hartnett (Tuam AC) race winneri

Senior Men:

1, Ger Hartnett (Tuam AC) 29:37

2  Brendan Hession (Mayo AC) 29:49

3, Seán Murphy (Mayo AC) 30:25

M55: 1 John Dalton (Ballinlough) 32:11

U19 Joshua Webb 42:15


1 Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 31:17

2, Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 36:12

3 Angela McVann (Mayo AC) 38:36

W50 Catherine Coyle (Swinford AC) 41:54

U19 Leah Johnson 38:29

Ballyhaunis Fit4Life: Men Justin McDonagh 37:07

Women: 1 Eileen Donnellan 43:23, 2 Karen Clancy 43:25 3 Siobhán Conlon 46:23

1st Local:  Pat Cribben Trophy: Men : Cormac O’Connor 36:50;  Women: Brenda Krusenova (LGFA) 41:11.

Justine McCoy (91) one of many delighted to see water station

Upcoming Events