Balla 10k results incl team – new course record for Freddy

Balla 10k 3-2-1 l-r: Max Ware, Alan Maguire, Freddy Feron Sittuk together in the rain after 1k

Balla 10k 3-2-1 l-r: Max Ware, Alan Maguire, and winner Freddy Keron Sittuk together in the rain after 1k

Freddy Keron Sittuk from Kenya won the 21st Balla 10k in 31: 25, and beat Sean Hehir’s 2102 course record by 7 seconds. It was the first race 2013 C&C Cellular Mayo AC Road League. Spectators saw a brilliant demonstration of smooth front running by Dublin based Freddy who trains with Raheny Shamrock AC. It was also his second victory in Mayo this month – he won the Achill Half Marathon. In the early stages he had Sligo native Alan Maguire and Max Ware (on holiday from UK) for company, but as the race progressed and the welcome cooling shower eased, he pulled clear to win decisively and enjoy the festive mood at the finish line in Balla village. The women’s race was less clear cut as Mayo AC masters trio Ann Lennon, Mary Gleeson and Colette Tuohy changed places. Ann Lennon has been in great form recently – the evidence was clear in her 5k series finish times when she got down to18:40 at Ballyhaunis and showed how valuable this ‘speedwork’ preparation  is for endurance racing. She pulled ahead in the final kilometres to win in her best 10k time for a few years 37:49, over thirty seconds ahead of Mary Gleeson, who was over a minute down on her 2012 time. Colette Tuohy looked strong and comfortable in third place and was well pleased with her finish time. It was good to see an excellent turnout of club vests throughout the field. One of them was Sean Murphy who recorded his second PB in 24 hours  having run 29:40 in Coolaney 8k on Friday evening  – a brilliant back to back achievement. David Tiernan held off Brendan Gill to win M35 and will be looking forward to his hometown Charlestown 10k, a new race in the road league in September. Club newcomer Val P Glynn finished a fine second place in M60.  Chris Gallagher showed great form in winning the F45 category in 42:44 as did F55 Pauline Moran (F55) and Margaret Glavey (F60) winners of F50 category. Breege Blehein also had a strong run and although hampered by a stitch at halfway finished third F45. Mayo AC women look to be in good shape ahead of the National Half marathon on Bank Holiday Monday morning. There was a heartening number of Fit4Life participants encouraged byn their recent 5k Series experience. Well done to Brendan Conwell and organising team for providing another excellent and unique Balla event. The second race in the Road League is the Ballina 10k Saturday August 10th 7pm

Prizewinners 21st Annual Balla 10k  (245 finishers), results at

1 Freddy Keron Sittuk (Kenya) 31:25 (course record)

2 Alan Maguire (Unatt)   32:53

3 Max Ware (Lincoln-Wallington AC)  33.56

M35 :

1 David Tiernan (Mayo AC) 36.14

2 Brendan Gill (Mayo AC) 36:28

1 David Corcoran 37:52

2 Russell Burton (Basingstoke) 38:01


1 Enda Whelan (Sligo AC) 45:28

2 Val P Glynn (Mayo AC) 47:07

Junior Men:
1 Aichlinn O’Reilly 36:27 , 2 Tadgh McGinty (Swinford AC) 36:37

1 Ann Lennon F45 (Mayo AC) 37:49
2 Mary Gleeson, F35 Mayo AC) 38.26
3 Colette Tuohy, F40 (Mayo AC) 39:14


1  Chris Gallagher (Mayo AC) 42:44

2  Maura Dervin (Mullingar Harriers) 43:15


1 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 45:10
2 Margaret Glavey (Mayo AC) 46:37
Junior Women:
1 Louise O’Brien 58:53 , 2 Ciara Moloney 61:58

Team results:Men

1 Mayo AC  D  Tiernan 36.14,  B Gill 36.28,  N Gibbons 36.47 = 109:29

2 Clare River Harriers:John Flaherty 40.49,  Brian Kenny 42.01, Kevin ODea 43.11 = 129:11

Women:  1 Mayo AC:  Ann Lennon 37:49, Mary Gleeson  38.26, Colette Tuohy 39.14 = 115.29;  Note National 10k 2013 won in 116:50 by Lifford AC.

2  Ballina AC Helena Kearns 45:22, Michelle Reynolds 47.12,  Marieta Brogan 49.38, = 142:12

John Nolan (left) with women's winner Ann Lennon inside last kilometre of Balla 10k

John Nolan (left) with women’s winner Ann Lennon inside last kilometre of Balla 10k

Upcoming Events