Four medal winners at Mayo Cross Country

Angela O'Connor winning the senior race at Belleek with Pauline Moran second

Angela O’Connor winning the senior race at Belleek with Pauline Moran second

Late October brilliant sunshine enhanced the setting as Moy Valley AC hosted the Mayo Cross Country Championships at Belleek last Sunday (October 23). Conditions were firm and dry and apart from the tough sharp uphill halfway round the one kilometre lap it was a fair test. The programme which included a number of underage events was run like clockwork by the host club. For the senior races some u17/19 categories were combined with adults – women ran four laps while men completed six.

Well done to our six runners and especially to the four who were medal winners. Angela O’Connor and Pauline Moran finished first and second women overall to win senior gold and silver.  Mags Glavey came home with bronze in the masters section. Brendan Gill finished third to win bronze in the men’s masters behind runaway winner Roger Barrett (Moy Valley AC) – his first cross country race in a couple of years.

Mayo Cross Country Championships results:

img_1202Senior Women:
1 Angela O’Connor, Mayo AC., 2 Pauline Moran, Mayo AC, 3 Cliona Mulroy, Swinford.

Masters Women:
1 Deirdre Gallagher Clarke, Moy Valley, 2 Patricia McLean, Swinford, 3 Mags Glavey Mayo AC.

Teams: 1 Swinford, 2 Moy Valley

img_1291Senior Men:
1 Jonathan Caulfield, Swinford. 2 Peter Hynes, Swinford. 3 Sean Gallagher, Moy Valley.

Masters Men:
1 Roger Barrett, Moy Valley. 2 Robert Malseed, Westport, 3 Brendan Gill, Mayo AC.

Teams. 1 Moy Valley, 2  Swinford

‘footnote’ to the recent (October 16) Tuam 8k results – Matt Bidwell winner of that race, went on that afternoon to finish first in the North East Galway Moylough 10k in 35:31. A few from our club also took part: Paul Reynolds 14th in 38:54, David Dinsmore 48:34, Maria Kneafsey 49:08.

Upcoming Events