De Care Dental Claremorris 8k results

Race winner Ultan McNasser well clear at 3k mark

The Annual De Care Dental Claremorris 8k took place on Sunday morning. It was also a target race in the 2017 Mayo AC Vodafone Club League. Points tables will be updated during the week. The 8k one lap course starts and finishes at Claremorris track. Conditions were warm, dry and slightly humid.

Ultan McNasser (Sligo AC) was the clear winner in 28:42, almost two minutes ahead of Brendan Hession 30:20, with Sean Murphy strolling home down the track in third 31:42. Local athlete Kathy Gleeson was first woman home again this year, and improved her 2016 time by 40 seconds to finish in 30:40. Colette Tuohy 32:12, and Pauline Moran 34:43 were second and third respectively. Monica Joyce and Owen Mongan were winners of age category prizes.

Kathy Gleeson heading for victory in the women’s race

Maureen Walsh CEO De Care Dental thanked all who helped organise the race on and off the course, Gardai, stewards, announcer Shane Timothy, volunteers from Western Alzheimers for whom it was a fundraiser, and all who helped provide post race refreshments. There will be  some photos on our facebook pages, and in local media from photographer Michael Donnelly .

The next Club League race is the County 10k Championships hosted by Moy Valley AC on Sunday next September 3. It is open to all currently registered club athletes in the county.  Details still to be confirmed by the host club – our events calendar will then be updated.


Men 1 Ultan McNasser (Sligo AC) 28:42; 2 Brendan Hession (Mayo AC) 30:20 3, Sean Murphy (Mayo AC) 31:42

Women 1, Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 30:44  2 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 32:12 3 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 34:43

Men o50 1 Eugene McCarton 43:41; 060 Owen Mongan (Mayo AC) 38:24
Women o50: 1 Monica Joyce (Mayo AC) 39:03; 060 Maureen Sweeney 51:40

u19 men Rian Coady 41:15

First De Care Dental : Oliver Devaney 44:18, Catherine Walsh,  Noeleen Lowry 64:35


Upcoming Events