De Care Dental Claremorris 5k results

The De Care Dental Claremorris 5k took place on Wednesday evening (July 4). It was also a target race in the 2018 Mayo AC Vodafone Club League. Points tables will be updated later in the week. The 5k one lap course is the same as that used for Mayo AC’s Summer Series. Conditions were warm in the continuing heatwave, with a nice breeze was into faces for much of the course. There was an excellent turnout of 130 runners and walkers, with numbers boosted by the Corporate challenge – twelve teams competed for the trophy. There were two distinct races – the open race and the corporate challenge with prizes for each based on entry.

In the open race Tom Prendergast (18:01) emerged the winner though pressed hard by Brendan Hession (18:17) in second. Tony O’Malley came through for third place in 19:00. Local athlete and prolific winner Kathy Gleeson was first woman home (19:17)  – she won the two De Care races in 2016, 2017 when it was an 8k event and the Ballinlough 10k on Saturday last. Kathy was challenged throughout by Mary Gleeson (19:31) making a welcome and excellent return to racing. Sylvia Malone finished third in 20:31.

The HSE team (pictured) won the Corporate Challenge trophy – they were led home by John Kelly (19:49) well supported by Mari Johnston (19:53), Padraic McVann (20:10), and Lynda Hession (22:07) – three Mayo AC plus Mari from Sligo AC finishing 10, 11, 12, 20th overall.

There was a good turnout of Mayo AC members competing in the Club League and the points tables will be updated soon. Mayo AC won three of the four category prizes: Stephen Skillington and Jimmy Feeney won the men’s o50, o60 and Eileen O’Brien the o50 women’s category.

Maureen Walsh CEO De Care Dental thanked all who helped organise the race on and off the course, stewards, announcer and main man John Timothy, Order of Malta and volunteers from ISPCC Childline for whom it was a fundraiser. All enjoyed the post race barbecue.

The next Club League race is the County 10k Championships hosted by Mayo AC on Saturday morning July 28. It will be held on the one lap Balla course. The race is open to all and incorporates the Mayo Athletics County Board 10k championships open to all currently registered over 18 club athletes in the county. Full details will be circulated soon and our events calendar will be updated.



Men 1 Tom Prendergast (Claremorris ) 18:01; 2 Brendan Hession (Mayo AC) 18:17 3, Tony O’Malley (Mayo AC) 19:00

Women 1, Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 19:17,  2 Mary Gleeson (Claremorris) 19:31, 3 Sylvia Malone 20:31

Men o50 1 Stephen Skillington (Mayo AC) 21:09; 060 Jimmy Feeney (Mayo AC) 22:13
Women o50: 1 Eileen O’Brien (Mayo AC) 31:30; 060 Patricia Brennan 53:34

u19 Shauna Charles 26:28

Corporate Challenge:  1 HSE team 1:22.01, 2 CBE Team 2 1:35.39, 3 Kavanagh Group 1:38.01



Upcoming Events