De Care Dental Claremorris 5k results

The De Care Dental Claremorris 5k took place on Thursday evening (July 4). It’s the 18th year that De Care have hosted a race.

The 5k one lap course is the same as that used for Mayo AC’s Summer Series.

Conditions were good though not quite as warm as last year’s race in middle of the hot summer spell. There was an excellent turnout of 134 runners and walkers, with numbers boosted by the Corporate challenge .

It was also a target race in the 2019 Mayo AC Club League with over 20 members competing.  Points tables will be updated later.

Congratulations to the prizewinners and well done to all who took part.

The Corporate Challenge was won by CBE led by TJ McHugh (18:17). They were one of 16 teams who competed.

All proceeds from the  race go to De Care’s Charity of the Year which is Claremorris Red Cross.

De Care Dental 5k Prizewinners:

Overall Men

1.       John Brennan 18:02

2.       Tom Prendergast (Mayo AC) 18:23

3.       Darren Brewer (Mayo AC) 18:49

Overall Women

1.       Mary Gleeson 19:32 

2.       Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 20:42

3.       Paula Walsh (Mayo AC) 21:30

Men Junior (U19)

1.       Mikey Kearney 20:47

Women Junior (U19)

1.       Lauren Mc Donnell (Castlebar AC) 23:01,

Men O50

1.       Dominic Regan (Mayo AC) 20:47

Woman (O50)

1.       Ann Murray (Mayo AC) 25:01

Men O60

1.       Jimmy Feeney (Mayo AC) 22:23

Woman O60

1.       Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 23:24

DeCare Runner

1.       Samantha Mc Donagh 28:13

DeCare Walker

1.       Megan Kilgallen 43:07

Full Results including Corporate Challenge teams are at :

The next Club League race is the County 10k Championships which is being hosted by Ballina AC on Friday evening July 12. The race is open to all and incorporates the Mayo Athletics County Board 10k championships open to all currently registered over 18 club athletes in the county. Club vests must be worn.

Upcoming Events