Michael Canty wins De Care Claremorris 4

Women's race winner Ann Lennon with Ray McNamara (455)

Women’s race winner Ann Lennon with Ray McNamara (455)

Conditions were good for Race 3 of our Road League on the last evening of August. The race route headed off in a new direction out of town, round the local park  and lake. However, like many races these days, the winners of the De Care Sport-a -Smile  Claremorris 4 mile were clear of the field after the first mile. Due to the volume of events on the calendar – 7 races this week-end in Connacht – battles to the line are rare, which reduces competitiveness and lessens excitement for participants and spectators alike. This is not to take away from the efforts of race winner Michael Canty (Ballina AC) and our in-form women’s winner Ann Lennon (Mayo AC),  both leading  out from the start, while a trio of David Tiernan, Brendan Gill and Anto Devaney stuck together and sorted out the top places. Colette Tuohy had a steady run to finish second woman. Both Paula Prendergast (Dublin 10m) and Mary Gleeson (Longford Half Mar) had hard races the previous week-end and filled the 3rd, 4th spots. Finishing times were down due mainly to the twisty terrain on an uneven gravel surface. The race route and distance were changed a few days prior which may also have been a factor – 4 miles is rarely run these metric days. Mayo AC were the winners in most categories. Next week should be a bigger event as race 4 of Mayo AC Road League moves to the new kid on the block – Charlestown 10k. Again, everyone is welcome to run walk or jog on a loop course which has proved popular and is relatively flat and fast. The Charlestown 10k organisers are looking for a big turnout of red and green, for obvious reasons, and Mayo AC members vest will be very appropriate for the occasion. Scroll down for full details . Race entry on runireland.com until Friday 6th and on the day at race HQ.

Sat 31st August, Claremorris De Care 4 mile, Race 3 Mayo AC Road League; results files attached (96 race finishers plus 30 walkers)

Prizes: (Mayo AC unless stated)

Men :
1 Michael Canty (Ballina AC) 22:03; 2 David Tiernan 22:21; 3 Brendan Gill 22:44

35+: 1 Anto Devaney 22:55; 2 John Nolan (Brickens) 24:00

50+ 1 David Corcoran (Civil Service) 23:39; 2 TJ Whyte (Tuam AC) 24:44

u19 1 Fergal Gill: 26:23


1 Ann Lennon 24:24; 2 Colette Tuohy 25:12; 3 Paula Prendergast 25:51

35+: 1 Mary Gleeson 26:33; 2 Chris Gallagher 27:00

50+: 1 Margaret Glavey 29:18; 2 Mary Beston 29:49

u19 1 Abbiegayle Ronayne 38:56

provisional results: xls/PDF  DECARE 4 MILE WALK RUN 31.8.13 


Anto Devaney 4th, David Tiernan 2nd, Brendan Gill 3rd... in early stages

Anto Devaney 4th, David Tiernan 2nd, Brendan Gill 3rd… in early stages


Upcoming Events