County 10k results

The latest race in our Club League was the third running of Mayo County 10k Championships hosted by Moy Valley AC at Ballina on Sunday afternoon. 

It was a warm energy sapping day with high humidity and no breeze, and the air full of vapour from Saturday’s rain. The tough one lap course started on Bunree road, crossed over the Moy and climbed out of town to loop back via Belleek park to the riverside finish at Bachelor’s Walk.

Michael Canty (33:43) made light work of the conditions and was the easy winner five minutes clear of Moy Valley clubmates Kevin May and Roger Barrett. Ciara McDermott  made it a double for the club as first woman home in 43:03, and Moy Valley also won both team prizes.

The other three competing clubs -Swinford, Mayo, and Ballina –  shared the rest of the prizes. Mayo AC had seven runners at the start and all of them came home with medals, either age category or team.

Our medal winners:

Senior women: Ann Murray bronze; o45 women Angela McVann gold; o55 men Tom Hunt gold, Jimmy Feeney silver, Noel Feeney bronze; Men team bronze: Brendan Murphy, Bill Coyne, Tom Hunt

Thanks to hosts Moy Valley AC for a well organised event and also for welcome refreshments at the  prizegiving in Ballina Sports and Leisure Centre.

Marion Mattimoe from Co Mayo Athletics Board organised the results and Mandy Caden, Chairperson Moy Valley AC presented the medals.

Thanks to David Dinsmore for his support and for the finish line photo  of our six medal winners -Ann Murray missing from photo was also a medal winner.

The Club League will be updated to include points won by our seven finishers – Brendan Murphy, Bill Coyne, Tom Hunt, Ann Murray, Jimmy Feeney, Noel Feeney and Angela McVann. Well done to all our County 10k medal winners today.


Upcoming Events