County 10k medals for all Mayo AC runners

Mayo AC: County 10k winning team l-r Darren Flanagan, Gvido Roze, John Gordon, Dan Charlton







Swinford AC hosted the 2023 County 10k Championships in conjunction with Mayo Athletics County Board in Killasser on Wednesday evening (August 16).

Mayo Club runners competed for championship medals in Junior, Senior, and Masters age categories o35,50,65

Conditions were good for running, though a light breeze would have been welcome.

The 10k course which started and finished near the Community Centre, looped through mainly single track local roads.

There was a very disappointing turnout of just 24 runners from the county clubs – they included 8 from Mayo AC. Despite this there were some really good times by runners who ran alone for the most part.. There were 62 finishers last year, 25 from Mayo AC and a good racing atmosphere around the Community Centre HQ.

Enda Marren (Swinford AC) was the race winner in 34:10 and Donna Gallagher (Mayo AC) claimed the women’s County title in 42:50.

Dee Corcoran Mayo AC was second woman home in 45:20.

Dan Charlton crossed the line first of Mayo AC’s finishers and 2nd overall in 34:55

Mayo AC’s other women’s medal winner was Caitlin Woods 1st o50 in 51:35

Donna Gallagher Senior gold, Caitlin Woods o50 gold

County 10k first woman finisher Donna Gallagher Senior gold, with Caitlin Woods o50 gold










Our other men’s medal winners were John Gordon 1st o50 37:53, Darren Flanagan 2nd o35 36:27, David Dinsmore 1st o65 43:50, Gvido Roze team gold 40:26

Mayo men’s team were 1st: Dan Charlton, Darren Flanagan, John Gordon, Gvido Roze.


Congratulations to our individual county 10k championships medal winners and to the men’s s team who won gold.


Well done to host club Swinford AC and the Mayo Athletics County Board who did an excellent job organising the event, and for providing a fine spread pf refreshments in the Community Centre. Shame they had catered for so many when there were so few to enjoy.

Mayo Athletics County Board 10k road Championships medal winners were presented by Sheila Hughes Secretary Co Board : Full Results attached below.


Mayo County 10k category winners.


Men: Senior 1 Enda Marren (Swinford AC) 34:10, 2 Dan Charlton (Mayo AC) 34:55 3 Alan Dunne (East Mayo AC) 35:39


o35 1 Bryan Renton (Westport AC) 35:54, 2 Darren Flanagan (Mayo AC) 36:27 3 Eoin Gallagher 42:40


050 1 John Gordon (Mayo AC) 37:53, John Nolan (Swinford AC) 41:39


o65 1 David Dinsmore Mayo AC 43:50




Senior 1 Donna Gallagher (Mayo AC) 42:50, 2 Dee Corcoran (Mayo AC) 45:20 3 Caitlin Hughes (Swinford AC) 45:46


o35 1 Kate McDonagh 54:18, 2 Paula Gomez 61:47, 3 Marie Roughneen 61:47


O50 1 Caitlin Woods (Mayo AC) 51:35, 2 Amanda Hynes (Swinford AC) 53:04


Junior men: 1 Sean Nolan (Moy Valley AC) 35:46, 2 Jack McNulty (Swinford AC) 51:34




Teams: (4 to count)

Men 1 Mayo AC

Women: 1 Swinford AC

(Post updated August 17, some photos from event will be added in separate post later)

Results: Mayo County 10k:


County 10k start at Killasser

Upcoming Events