On Saturday October 3  the inaugural Clogher Co Mayo half and full marathons took place. The races were over a 7k looped certified and accredited course.

Three loops plus 4k+ metres made up the half, while the full consisted of six loops plus 885 metres.

For many runners it took the place of the cancelled Galway Bay Marathon. There were 46 entries in each of the events. Conditions were good for running.

Mayo AC had competitors in both races – 9 in half, 7 in full.
Eamonn Joyce (Mayo AC) won the marathon in an excellent time 2:54.18, with Johnny Breen second 2:56.40, followed by Tony O’Malley (Mayo AC) in another great time 2:57.34.
Our other marathon men finishers were Tadgh Hanrahan 3:03.40, Gerry Kirrane 3:04.49, Andrew Hayes 3:07.33, Brendan Murphy 3:18.00
The women’s marathon winner was Patricia McLaughlin 3:09.42, second was Paula Donnellan Walsh (Mayo AC) 3:28.30 – great time and new pb?, third Marian O’Malley (Westport AC) 3:34.33
The winner of the Half marathon was Brendan Conway (Westport AC) in 70:54 – over three minutes faster than his recent Clew Bay half win (74:11). 2nd Sean McLaughlin (Westport AC) 72:19, 3rd Gerard Cuddy 75:27.
Gráinne Ní hUallacháin (GCH) won the women’s half in 83:04, 2nd Shelly O’Neill 97.19, 3rd Sheelagh McDonnell (Mayo AC) 1:44.53
Mayo AC finishers: John Brennan 87:47, Anto Devaney 91:39, Brian Derrig 97:48, Andy Neary 99:27.
 Noelle Kilduff 1:50.08, Martin Fitzmaurice 1:55.39, Marcella McDonnell 1:57.48, Anthony Corbett 2:05.18
Congratulations to our prizewinners (top three finishers Eamonn, Tony, Paula and Sheelagh) and well done to all on their performances today.
Well done too to Tom McLoughlin the event organiser, who arranged the two races at short notice. They took place with full adherence to Athletics Ireland and HSE guidelines.
Results: (thanks to run4time.com)