Claremorris series finale + Mayo AC finishers

Last evening’s Claremorris 5k was a magnificent finale to the 2024 Intersport Elverys Mayo AC 5k Series.

Blessed with a wonderful sunny evening, there was an atmosphere of excitement and anticipation as over two hundred runners gathered at the startline.

The series was one of the most enjoyable and successful of the twelve editions so far. There was a record total of 875 finishers in the five races, with 54 runners completing all five.

The Claremorris course with that long climb up Claremount Manor after 3k is one of the most challenging as finishing times showed.

However, the standard of running was high once again, as it had been throughout the previous four races.

20% of the Claremorris field finished in under 20 minutes, and 68% under 25.

One of the key objectives of the Series is to provide an opportunity for all runners, whether you are a complete beginner or a regular jogging/runner is to enable participants achieve improved levels of fitness and wellness within the  five race series in a fun, sociable environment.

The energy and leadership of Mayo AC Chairperson John Byrne has led to the resounding success of the 2024 series. And he found time to run great times in four of the series races!

Thank you, John!

He’s added this message to the words of gratitude he expressed at last night’s prize presentation.

“While the 2024 Elvery’s 5k Race Series is still fresh in the memory, I’d like to say Thank You to a few people I may have overlooked in the post race hurry and excitement last night.

Sarah Byrne was the main driving force of the series. She did enormous work and was ably assisted by John Gordon and John Timothy, who was also the main organiser of our Claremorris leg and after party.

Colette Tuohy and Ann McDonnell, as ever, were the first port of call when extra help and guidance was needed and again they were not found wanting.

A big thank you to Greg Barry who was our main series photographer, and did a brilliant job capturing hundreds of super images over the 5 nights.

Big thanks to the individual race directors at the 5 venues.

Thanks to Tom Hunt who captured the series brilliantly in words, and provided a record and archive of events for posterity. Not an easy task to get reports online so promptly given the late start times.

Finally, thanks to all our members who participated, helped out or in many cases did both. The vibrancy in the club was heartening to see over the 5 nights. ❤️”.


Mayo AC Claremorris 5k finishers – a record 51 members!

John Byrne 17:15

Tadgh Hanrahan 17:25

Michael Rocke 17:41

Thomas Reilly 17:59

Matt Bidwell 18:04

Mike Griffin 18:11

Tony O’Malley 18:41

Sean Hynes 18:46

Stephen Costello 18:49

Gerry Kirrane 18:55

Art Maguire 19:07

Sean Murphy 19:12

Padraic McVann 19:16

Raymond Clarke 19:30

Fionnan Nestor 20:28

Paula Donnellan Walsh 20:37

Brendan Murphy 21:11

Colette Tuohy 21:13

Lorraine McNulty 21:25

Ambrose Gaughan 21:34

Ruth Carney 21:45

Dee Finnegan 21:52

Dee Corcoran 21:55

Ann McDonnell 22:04

Lucy Tuohy 22:20

Brian Derrig 22:26

Karl O’Malley 23:30

Erika Ryan 23:44

John Nyland 23:48

Mags Glavey 23:52

Angela McVann 23:55

Karen Devaney 24:03

Michael Sweeney 24:04

Joan Walsh 24:10

Gerry Corley 24:11

Martin Parsons 24:19

David Crowley 24:28

Helen Ingoldsby 24:56

Caitlin Woods 25:08

Louise O’Brien 26:12

Brian Healy 26:32

George Bell 27:45

Patricia Ryder 29:00

Regina Kiernan 29:38

Colette McTigue 31:26

Clodagh Geraghty 31:34

Fiona Jennings 31:46

Linda Creagh 33:51

Loretta Caulfield 35:00

Sarah McNicholas 35:10

Tom McNicholas 36:10

Claremorris 5k Results include races 1-4 finish times :


They’re off in the Claremorris 5k!

Upcoming Events