Claremorris 5k results: race 1 Mayo AC Summer Series

Setting out at Claremorris

The first race in the 10th annual Mayo AC Summer Series took place at Claremorris on Tuesday evening (May 21). Conditions were calm, warm and dry. The one lap course is mainly flat over the first half with a gradual climb from 3k until the track – a 400 metre circuit to the finish line.There was an excellent turnout – 169 finishers. Among them a good number of Mayo AC runners and well supported by athletics clubs and fitness groups, many of whom have signed up for the full series.

Congratulations to John Higgins (Mayo AC) who was the race winner in a new pb 17:15. He pulled away from David Hickey (Westport AC) up the hill section and was 13 seconds ahead on the run in. Third was Dan Charleton (Castlebar) in 17:53 – he finished second behind John Higgins in the Carnacon 8k in the spring.

Catherine Conway (Mayo AC) came back to racing with an impressive run winning the women’s race in 19:25. She was over 20 seconds ahead of Ballycroy native Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC) 19:46. Clare O’Boyle (Ballina AC) came home third in 19:55.

Well done to the winners and all finishers – a few pbs among them.

Claremorris 5k first three:

Claremorris 5k winner John Higgins

Men: 1 John Higgins (Mayo AC) 17:15; 2 David Hickey (Westport AC) 17:28; 3 Dan Charleton (Castlebar) 17:53.

Women: 1  Catherine Conway (Mayo AC) 19:25; 2  Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC) 19:46, 3  Clare O’Boyle (Ballina AC) 20:37

Results: Claremorris_Overall_Results



Well done to John Timothy who led the Claremorris organising team making it a smoothly run event and all who supported him on the evening.

Thanks also to Perfect Timing (Mark and Ronnie Naylor) who facilitated the timing and results. Thanks also to Order of Malta for their support.

The next series race is at Castlebar on Tuesday next May 28, details and online entry:


Upcoming Events