Claremorris 5, results etc


the field heading out the Knock road

Bright dry conditions faced the 100+  field as they headed up the hill out the Knock road at the start of the 11th Claremorris De Care Dental ‘Sport a Smile’ 5 mile on Saturday
It was the fifth race in Mayo AC 2012 C&C Cellular Road League. The out and back loop course is recognised as being tough with a long uphill drag on the return section.
John Byrne led out with Matt Bidwell content to sit in behind. After the 4 mile mark, Bidwell increased the pace and a five minute final mile took him clear to win in 26:08 a few seconds outside his 2011 winning time. John Byrne held on strongly and was just 9 seconds back in second. Matt Bidwell was among a number who used the race as a final speed session ahead of the National Half Marathon at Athenry on Sunday next.  Brendan Gill ran another fine time in third – 27:51 – underlining his recent good form and just a week after Gaelforce. Fellow Westport runner Gerry Galvin (30:52) was happy to finish in under 31 minutes for the first time at this distance. Mary Gleeson easily won the women’s race again, reflected in a finishing time of 30:08, 40 seconds outside her 2011 time. She will have saved some energy ahead of Athenry. It was good to see Mayo AC’s masters women showing good form and they will be keenly contesting the medals next Sunday, when the club will have over forty men and women participating across all the categories. Meanwhile, the current glut of races are now mostly local affairs. Competition between club runners from near and far  has always been an exciting element of road racing and many look forward to the day when that will return. As they say, less is more

Results summary: Mayo AC unless stated  (100+finishers ),  results files attached.

Senior Men
1 Matt Bidwell (GCH) 26:08
2 John Byrne  26:17
3 Brendan Gill 27:51

1 Peter Hynes (Swinford AC) 29:37
2 Sean Murphy 30:46

1 Hugh Duffy 30.14
2 TJ Whyte (Tuam AC) 30:23

Women winners: 3,Ann Lennon, 1 Mary Gleeson, 2 Colette Tuohy

Senior Women
1 Mary Gleeson  30:08
2 Colette Tuohy 31:21
3 Ann Lennon 32:09

1 Angela O’Connor 32:24
2 Joan Walsh 36:17

1 Una McGrath 45:23
2 Andrea Ridge (Tuam AC) 46:41

Junior U19
1 Rosie Hynes (Swinford AC) 35:29

Results file Claremorris 5 mile run 25th august 12 (pdf): Claremorris 5 mile run 25th august 12  (xls)

l-r:Ann McDonnell, Gerry Madden, Dawn Regan, Gerry Regan

Men 1,2 3 Matt Bidwell, John Byrne, Brendan Gill


Seamus Gaughan, o60, finishes in 31:41

Dominic Mullee and Paul Gleeson head for finish line

Upcoming Events