Celebrating our success at Mayo Athletics Awards

Celebrating in Belmullet:  Anne Murray, Mags Glavey, Anne Marie Staunton, PJ Hall

The Mayo Athletics County Board 2016 Awards took place at the Broadhaven Bay Hotel, Belmullet on Sunday afternoon. The event was excellently hosted by Erris AC and sponsored by Vodafone C&C Cellular.

Congratulations to all our members who received awards in various categories. We’re very proud of their achievements. It’s due recognition of another wonderful year of success at local, National and International levels for Mayo AC. 

The club’s 2016 achievements were also recognised when we were awarded Senior Club of the Year

Here is a list of our individual and team award winners and their achievement category as defined by the Co Board.

Mags Glavey – Outstanding Achievement

Pauline Moran – Outstanding Achievement

Angela O’Connor – High Achievement

Norah Newcombe – High Achievement

Ann Lennon – High  Achievement

Senior & Masters Silver/Bronze Achievement Awards: 

PJ Hall

Ann Murray

Mary Roache

Colette Tuohy

Monica Joyce

Martin Peyton

Mary Murphy

Tom Hunt

Team Achievement Awards:

Senior Women’s Team National Half Marathon: Norah Newcombe, Ann Lennon, Colette Tuohy

Senior Women’s Team National Marathon: Norah Newcombe, Sarah Syron, Anne Marie Staunton

o50 Women’s Teams: National 10k – Angela O’Connor, Pauline Moran, Mags Glavey (Gold); Ann Murray, Monica Joyce, Mary Walsh (Bronze)

o50 Women’s Teams: National Half Marathon –  Pauline Moran, Mags Glavey, Ann Murray (Gold); Monica Joyce, Mary Murphy Una McGrath (Bronze)

o50 Women’s Team National Marathon: Monica Joyce, Mary Murphy, Bernie McHugh (Bronze)

Look out for Carla Shevlin’s photos of award groups when they are published in local papers and any others will be on https://www.facebook.com/mayoathleticsclub/

Upcoming Events