Celebrating 25 Years of Success

Mayo AC celebrated their 25th Anniversary in style with a party in the Welcome Inn Hotel, Castlebar on Saturday 1st December.

CELEBRATING 25 YEARS: Group who have been Mayo AC Committee Members over the years. Back L/R Brendan Conwell, Liam Collins, Frank Greally, Editor Irish Runner, TJ McHugh, Angela O’Connor, Tom Hunt, Michael McGrath, Seamus Breslin, Ronnie Naylor. Front L/R Ann Fahey Ronayne, Noreen McManamon, Mary Moylett, Mary Gleason and Josphine Macken Gardiner, Pic: Joy Heverin

There was a broad spectrum of members from the early days of the late ’80s to the present time among the 120 plus who attended. It was an opportunity for old friends and rivals to meet again and reminisce, mix with the post Millenium intake, share training methods, from the days of handwritten results sheets to today’s racing menu where it’s chips with everything. In tandem with the club’s success, membership has grown from 30 odd in 1999 to over 140 in 2012. Recognition was a big theme of the night. Certificates were presented reflecting the various contributions members have made to athletics in general and to the club in particular over the past quarter century.

Prize Winners in the Mayo AC C&C Cellular Road Race League 2012. Back L/R Lawrence Gaughan representing his brother Jim), Peter Hynes, Anto Devanney, Tadhg McGinty, Jimmy Feeney. Front L/R Hugh Duffy,Michael Ring T.D. Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Tom Lavelle, C&C Cellular Sponsors and Sean Murphy. Pic Joy Heverin

The history of the club was presented using video, still photos and displays of memorabilia and newspaper cuttings where black and white graphically told of the exploits of the red and green vest and its predecessor in white. There were presentations too to 2012 winners of National medals.  This year’s Road League winners prizes were presented by Tom Lavelle, CEO C&C Cellular and he pledged continuing sponsorship. ‘Irish Runner’ Most Improved trophies were awarded to Pauline Moran and Noel Gibbons, and presented by editor Frank Greally. Guest speaker Michael Ring TD, Minister of State for Sport & Tourism, congratulated the club on their achievements over the twenty five years and wished them every success in the future. Charlie Lambert and Ann Fahey Ronayne representing Mayo Sports Partnership acknowleged the continuing support of the club and their contribution to the development of athletics in the county.

Medalists at the AAI National 10k 2012. Back L/R Mary Gleason, Sarah Syron,Colette Tuohy, Pauline Moran, Mary Murphy, Una McGrath, Mary Walsh, Angela O’Connor, Chris Gallagher, Chris O’Connell , Owen Mongan. Front L/R Mary Moylett, Michael Ring T.D. Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Frank Greally, Editor Irish Runner, Ann Murray. Pic: Joy Heverin





Mayo AC 25th Anniversary Organising Committee were:

Michael McGrath, Ann McDonnell, Angela O’Connor, Christy O’Malley, PJ Hall, Brendan Conwell.


Mayo AC members who were awarded Mayo Sports Stars for Athletics over the years L/R Colette Tuohy, Paddy Murray, Tony Gleason (representing his wife Kathy Connolly), Mary Gleason, Sarah Syron, Catherine Conway, John Byrne, Breege Blehein-McHale, Ann Lennon. Pic: Joy Heverin

Upcoming Events