Castlebar Greenway 10 miler results

Top three finishers l-r Daire Comer (Tuam AC) 3rd, winner John Byrne and David Tiernan 2nd – both Mayo AC

The inaugural Castlebar Greenway 10 mile race  organised by Mayo AC.took place on Sunday morning.

The out and back course started and finished at Castlebar town park and included eight miles along  the Greenway, criss crossing bridges over the Castlebar river with a two mile loop on public roads through Turlough village via the Round Tower.

Conditions were good and the rain held off until near the end of the race when finishers faced a stiff breeze as they headed for the town park.

John Byrne came home the winner (59:17) twenty seconds ahead of David Tiernan with Daire Comer third repeating last weekend’s Charlestown 10k top three. Emma Grimes was first woman across the line in 65:59, just over a minute ahead of Colette Tuohy with Maura Ginty from Ballycroy third in 69:16.

Mayo AC Chairman David Dinsmore presented the prizes and congratulated all who competed. He also thanked the Castlebar Greenway 10 organisers led by Padraic McVann and Colette Tuohy and their excellent volunteers, the Order of Malta for their services – “a superb job by all and a great spread afterwards at An Sportlann”.

The 10 mile race was the final event in Mayo AC Vodafone 2018 club league.

Photos from.the event will be added to Mayo AC facebook pages over the next couple of days.

Results: (104 finishers) Castlebar Greenway Provisional results

Prize winners:

Men 1 John Byrne (Mayo AC) 59:17 ,2 David Tiernan (Mayo AC) 59:37 ,3 Daire Comer (Tuam AC) 60:17

Women 1 Emma Grimes (GCH) 65:59, 2 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 67:24 ,3 Maura Emma Ginty (Sportsworld) 69:16

o40 men 1 Hugh McArdle (Roscommon Harriers AC) 62:09, 2 John Gordon 63:34.

o40 women 1 Emma Keane 78:15 ,2 Aoibheann Finan 79:13

o50 men 1 Michael O’Malley 72:58, 2 Thomas O’Brien 74:28

o50 women 1 Marcella McDonnell (Mayo AC) 82:29, 2 Fionnuala O’Mara 82:58

o60 men 1 Owen Mongan (Mayo AC) 78:52, 2 John Cunniffe (Mayo AC) 79:45

o60 women 1 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 73:54

Upcoming Events