Carramore 10k Report

Carramore 10k Results Summary and Report:

Senior Men
1: Matthew Bidwell (GCH) 32.46
2: Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) 32.54
3: John Byrne  (Mayo AC) 33.20

Senior Women
1: Catherine Conway (Mayo AC) 37.17
2: Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) 37.43
3: Regina Casey (GCH) 38.24

Download full results here : –>  [Download not found]

More pictures from Carramore 2011 can be found by selecting Gallery 2011 (Thanks to Hazel Heneghan for the results and photo’s, and as usual Tom Hunt for the comprehensive report)

The heavens opened across the West for most of Saturday, so it was
blessed relief to see blue sky over Carramore for the Annual 10k
race.The excellent field of over 140 were delighted, as was Race
organiser Christy Heneghan. At the race presentation in the Community
Centre, Christy attributed the welcome evening sunshine to the
intervention of our  late Club Secretary, Padraic Cullina RIP, who was
a key member of his team over the years.

This was the second race in the 2011 Mayo AC C&C Cellular Road Race
League and funds raised went to the Mayo/Roscommon Hospice. There was
a mighty atmosphere buzzing around the new start line of the
re-measured course with many top local runners competing. The one lap
course is popular as it is mainly flat apart from a section from 6-7k
and a hill up to the finish. A fresh breeze added to the task this
year but sun and wind were on runner’s backs for the last 3k.

Front running Robert Malseed took the race out for a couple of k’s but
was soon overtaken. A group formed and led most of the way until
winner Matt Bidwell (GCH) held off Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) by six
seconds to win in 32.46, with John Byrne (Mayo AC) third . Bidwell has
won all three races in the Galway 5k series so far. In behind these
David Carrie (Dunleer AC) was fourth and first M40 in a brilliant
33.40. TJ McHugh (34.02), Timmie Glavey and Owen Byrne had only 5
seconds between them, ahead of Robert Malseed who despite finishing
eighth still shares the Road League lead with Timmie Glavey.

Regina Casey (GCH) has also been first woman finisher in the 5k series
and she set off just behind Mayo AC’s Catherine Conway and Mary
Gleeson. However, they gradually drew away with Catherine winning
convincingly in 37.17, and Mary second 37.43, with Regina 40 seconds
behind in 3rd. Among the category winners Colette Tuohy F40, and Angela  O’Connor F45 continue to improve their 10k times in most impressive style.

Many runners are competing twice a week now with the glut of races on
the calendar. Others are preparing for Cork Half and Full marathons
and the Women’s Mini marathon on June Bank Holiday Monday. Locally,  Swinford AC bring their 5k series to a close on Wed evening 25th May with a 7k at Meelick at 7.30. Mayo AC Fit4Life 3x5k series in
association with Mayo Sports Partnership begins at Castlebar on
Tuesday June 21st.

Three Murray brothers from Westport ran in Carramore – Anthony was
12th in 36.00. He finished first in the Meelick 5k last week in 16.57
and was 2nd in Killasser 5k. Also impressive in Carramore were sisters
Breege 50.51, and Ann Marie Staunton 52.58, Una McGrath F50 51.14,
Joan Walsh F40 46.28 and ‘newcomer’ Kathy Gleeson 41.35. Brendan
Hession continues to break his PB 39.08, and Hugh Duffy M40 is making
a great return after a break in competing – 39.45. The first Fit4Life
finisher was Linda O’Hora from Ballina 4751.

We had a fine turnout of 40 in the race and filled 8 of the 15 prize positions.
With 50% of finishers completing the race in under 45 minutes, the
overall standard was high. It was good to see this traditional race
supported so well this year, and to hear many positive comments at the
presentation in the Community centre, about the course, organisation,
general atmosphere and not least – value for money.

(Tom Hunt captures some of the battles at the finish line.)

Men over 40
1: David Carrrie  (Dunleer AC) 33.40
2: Dan O’Rourke (Tuam AC) 37.10

Women over 40
1: Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 38.56
2: Roseanne Mitchell (Sligo AC) 41.38

Women over 45
1: Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC) 40.18
2: Ann Murray (Mayo AC) 44.10
Men over 50
1  Billy Gallagher (Mayo AC) 38.41
2: Ronnie Naylor (Mayo AC) 40.04

Junior Men
1 Jonathan Deane (Ballina AC) 38.45

Upcoming Events