Carra Classic 8k winner is John Higgins (Mayo AC)

Claire Murphy, Ann McDonnell, Paula Donnellan and John Nyland – happy finishers at Carnacon

The 6th Annual Seamus Corbett Memorial Carra Classic 8k fun run and walk took place today in Carnacon.

The event forms part of ‘The Great Lakes Challenge”.

For Mayo AC it was also the first event in their 2019  Club League with twenty-four members competing.

Congratulations to race winner John Higgins who finished with an 8k pb. John joined the club recently and ran a marathon pb 2:44 in Seville a couple of  weeks ago. He is a welcome addition to our senior ranks.

Regina Casey was the clear winner of the women’s race in 29:26 a few seconds outside her 2018 winning time.

Congratulations to our prizewinners John Higgins, Colette Tuohy and Paula Donnellan and well done to all of our finishers.

John Higgins and Colette Tuohy will lead the Club League tables ahead of the next event the National 10 championships, which is followed by two more 10ks at Kimovee and Foxford – all three races in April.

Mags Donovan led the local team in this excellently organised event which was held in tough chilly conditions with blustery hail showers around the one lap course.

The race was well supported by a host of local sponsors and all finishers received a well filled goodie bag – excellent value for €10 entry fee.

There were 107 runners and walkers. All finishers had welcome nourishment after the event at the prize presentations in the Community Centre.


Men 1 John Higgins (Mayo AC) 28:34, Dan Charleton (Castlebar) 29:13, 2 Francis Cryan (Westport AC)  29:20

Women 1 Regina Casey (GCH)  29:26,  2  Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 32:07.3 Paula Donnellan (Mayo AC) 35:36

50+: Men: Michael O’Malley 33:40; Women: Elaine Walkin 42:57.

Other Mayo AC finishers included, Eamonn Joyce 30:31, Brendan Hession 30:37, Anto Devaney 31:37, Andrew Hayes 32:40, James Malone 33:03, Ambrose Gaughan 34:28, Kevin Donnellan 35:36, Anthony Corbett 36:01, Brian Derrig 36:02, John Cunniffe 36:04, Dominic Regan 36:21, Sheelagh McDonnell 37:06, Deirdre Corcoran 37:26, Stephen Skillington 37:07, Raymond Clarke 37:26, Ann McDonnell 38:12, Claire Murphy 38:12, Ann Marie Clarke 38:25, Elaine Hession 38:47, Nicola Mylotte 40:26, John Nyland 39:17, Justin McDonagh 39:32, Bernice McCartan 41:38, Tracey Cunnane 44:58, Geraldine Heneghan 46:51

Apologies for omitting some Mayo AC finisher names, list now updated.


Upcoming Events