Carra 8k, Mattie Carden 10/5k, Kinvara Half/10k, Sonia 5k 99

Carra 8k Women winners: Linda Feerick 2nd, Anne Heaney 1st, Ann Corbett presented the prizes, Noreen Lyons 3rd

Carra 8k Women winners l-r : Linda Feerick 2nd, Anne Heaney 1st, Ann Corbett presented the prizes, Noreen Lyons 3rd

The road race season is well underway and there were a few events around the province at the weekend. looking ahead there’s the Streets 5k in Castlebar next Sunday, the Kilmovee 10k on 26th and the National 10k on April 10. All three are included in the Club League.  In between those the calendar is full of racing opportunities. On Saturday the Seamus Corbett Memorial 8k Carra Classic took place in Carnacon. Mags Donovan led the team in this well organised event in good weather conditions. Entrants reached the 180 mark which was excellent. John Byrne and Anne Heaney were the winners last year in very windy wet conditions, and both won again in faster times. John finished in 26:36, almost half a minute quicker and his fastest time in four recent race wins over 8k. Anne’s 33:28 was an even bigger improvement – 47 seconds better than 2015. All finishers enjoyed soup, sandwiches, tea and apple tart – welcome nourishment to replace the calories used on the roads around the lake.

Overall winners ( results Seamus Corbett 8k results )
Men 1 John Byrne  26:36, 2 Noel Gibbons  29:14, 3  Matthew Gill  29:57
Women 1 Anne Heaney  33:28,  2  Linda Feerick  37:30, 3  Noreen Lyons  37:52
50+:  David Corcoran  31:11
under 18:  Bobby Reilly   35:53

Other Mayo AC finishers incliuded: Brendan Hession 30:53, Sean Brophy 31:36, James Malone 32:02, John Reilly 33:03, Patrick Walsh 33:22, Owen Mongan 36:20, Ann Marie Clarke 38:19, Karen Devaney 39:16

there’s more on

Mattie Carden Memorial 10k/5k Enniscrone (210 finishers results 10k Men 1 Stephen Donnelly 35:32, Women 1 Clodagh Sweeney u19 40:03

5k Men 1 Keelan Kilrehill 17:55, Women 1 Roseanne Mitchell (Sligo AC) 22:36

Kinvara Half Marathon and 10k (600+ finishers in each, results  )
Half Marathon Men 1 Paul Stephenson 73:57, Women 1 Jane Ann Meehan 82:03
Mayo AC finishers Paul Reynolds 1:28.29, Brendan Murphy 1:30.54, Michael McNeela 1:31.55, Mick Shaw 1:42.30 PB,  Julie Kearney 1:42.51, Ann McDonnell 1:45.10, Reiltin Shaw 1:47.00, John Nyland 1:47.53, Bernie Heneghan 1:58.57, Maria Kneafsey 2:02.44.
10k Men 1 Louis McCarthy 33:28, Women 1 Michelle McGee 37:31

Mayo AC Tim Ganley 48:25, John Geraghty 48:59, John McNamee 53:29, Patricia Nyland 68:10

Sonia 8k Sligo (146 finishers) Men 1 Martin Cox 15:52, 2 Cian McBride 16:07, 3 Seamus Somers 16:54; Women 1 Sara Doohan (Corran AC) 2 Lucy Brennan (Sligo AC) 19:51, 3 Monica Henry 20:23

Upcoming Events