Brickens 5k results, and roundup

The second race in Mayo AC 2016 Vodafone C&C Cellular Series took place at Brickens this evening. Conditions were excellent for the  174 finishers who ran on the familiar loop course. Michael McGrath was the organiser and he thanks all those people who assisted in various ways in the organisation  of the event.  John Byrne won in a tight battle by three seconds in an excellent 15:59 from Eamonn Staunton (Westport AC) the winner of the opening 5k series race last week in Ballyhaunis. Eamonn had the edge in their two recent encounters in the Kilmovee 10k and Runway 5k. Kathy Gleeson from Claremorris was third last year in this race , and winner last week in Ballyhaunis. She recorded her second series victory in 19:00 and maintained the gap she had last week over Sarah (Mayo AC) Syron, second again in 19:26. A resurgent Ann Lennon was third in 19:51. Ann was first woman home in the recent Spirit of Knock 5k.

Brickens 5k results first three:
Men: (Mayo AC unless stated) 1 John Byrne 15:59, 2 Eamonn Staunton (Westport AC) 16:02, 3, Brendan Hession 17:43.

Women: 1 Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 19:00, 2 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 19:26, 3 Ann Lennon 19:51.


The ‘no frills’ Series moves to  Claremorris next Tuesday June 7. Registration at the track from 6:30pm with cut off 7:45 for a 8pm sharp start.

In the final race of the Galway 5k series in Athenry this evening (662 finishers) there was a double for GCH with Matt Bidwell clear winner in a fast 15:32 and Regina Casey 13th overall and first woman in 17:24. Cormac Kearney (Mayo AC) finished off the series with a 22:03/21:46 chip finish.


There was a big turnout for the Runway 5k at Knock Airport last Saturday evening May 28. The event was held to celebrate thirty years of service since May 30 1986.
The asphalt runway measures 2,340 metres and is laid over boggy terrain at an elevation of 203 metres. On a clear day you can see for miles and miles. A few Mayo AC runners were first back at arrivals. Eamonn Staunton (Westport AC) led home in 15:50, with John Byrne second 15:56. Sean Murphy clocked 17:50. Colette Tuohy 18:34, and Angela O’Connor 19:54 were the leading women finishers.. It seems to have been an enjoyable and unique experience for all who took part.
A completed regular daytime airport schedule enabled the event to take place.
Some unusual terms and conditions applied –
” no Chip and pin system in operation on the night – runners to monitor their own time
• No bottles or potential FOD (Foreign objects debris) of any kind are permitted to be carried by anyone participating in the runway run/walk
Participants are advised to run/walk responsibly, leave adequate space and only overtake when safe to do so.
• No pets allowed by participants or spectators.

Event T shirts must be worn”.

There were no refreshments.

Upcoming Events