Ballina Half Marathon Results

Mayo AC were well represented at the River Moy Half Marathon in Ballina this morning. Conditions were sunny and dry with a gentle breeze around the area. The course is described by organisers as “relatively flat with a few challenging hills along the way”. There were 544 finishers among the runners and walkers – similar to 2015 – but times generally were down. Thirty three runners came home in under ninety minutes as opposed to forty five last year.
Well done to John Byrne, who finished second in 74:58, almost a minute behind winner Eamon McAndrew. Congratulations to Norah Newcombe on a fine win on home territory in the women’s race in 83:44. Lucy Brennan had another remarkable run to finish second in 87:06.
We had two category winners – David Dinsmore in M60 (96:15), enjoying a great spell of form and another consistent run by Pauline Moran to win the W55 section in 98:47.
Well done to Ann McDonnell (1:43.17) who knocked a few seconds off her 2014 Ballina PB, and John Geraghty who was three minutes better than his 2014 time finishing in 1:39.58.
Results summary:
Men 1 Eamon McAndrew M40 (Sligo TC) 74:06, 2 John Byrne M40 (Mayo AC) 74:58, 3 Gary Higgins M35 (Sligo AC) 75:46

M40 Thomas Kelly (North Sligo AC) 76:45, M45 David Sands 80:45, M50 Derek Hunter (Dunshaughlin AC) 81:57, M55 Andy Sherris 88:58, M60 David Dinsmore (Mayo AC) 96:15, M65 Finian Loftus 2:06.42, M70 Tom Horkan 2:21.48, M75 Patrick Collins (Kilfinane AC) 2:28.17

Women 1 Norah Newcombe W35 (Mayo AC) 83:44, 2 Lucy Brennan W55 (Sligo AC) 87:06, 3 Mari Johnston W45 (Sligo AC) 89:14

W40 Patricia McLoughlin (Le Cheile AC) 1:42.47, W45 Rachel Burgess 1:36.59, W50 Mary Kealy (Athenry AC) 1:37.13, W55 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 1:38.47, W60 Eilish Gilvarry 1:52.59

Among other Mayo AC recognised in results list: Brendan Hession 81:37, Matthew Gill 87:33, Neil Carroll 88:31, Michael McNeela 88:47,, Brendan Murphy 88:59, Paula Prendergast 89:56, Sean Murphy 90:38, James Malone 92.32, Paul Reynolds 99:57, Brian Healy 1:42.16, Donal Tighe 1:44.10, Shane Timothy 1:45.58, Frank Cloherty 1:49.34, Caroline Allworthy 1:50.02, Tom Jennings 1:50.02, Padraic McVann 1:51.09, Patricia Carty 1:51.35, Ambrose Gaughan 1:51.53, John Nyland 1:54.20, Greg Barry 1:54.20, Julie Kearney 1:55.07, Noelle Kilduff 1:57.20, Michael Toughey 1:59.04, Maria Kneafsey 2:00.34, Helen Kitching¬† 2:00.44, James Murtagh 2:02.54, Geraldine Heneghan 2:02.58, Karen Davitt 2:11.16, Karen Devaney 2:11.22, Christy O’Malley 2:12.42, Reiltin Shaw 2:11.41, Marie Murphy 2:24.23

Upcoming Events