Ballina Half Marathon results

Mayo AC were well represented again this year at the River Moy Half Marathon held in Ballina this morning. The course is described by organisers as “relatively flat with a few challenging hills along the way” and conditions were good for running with temperatures down on recent days.  The race winner was Freddie Sittuk in what is probably a course record 69:35. He had  a tough challenge from last year’s winner Alan O’Shea with just five seconds between them at the finish. The women’s race was won by Lorraine Carey in 84:18.

Sarah Syron and Catherine Conway were well in contention, coming home fourth and fifth respectively. There were 533 finishers similar to 2016, with 29 home in under ninety minutes – 33 last year.

Well done to all our finishers, which included a number who improved their personal best half marathon times.
We had three category winners – David Dinsmore, M60, Pauline Moran F60, and Mags Glavey F65 – all in excellent times.

Results summary (including Mayo AC category winners).
Men 1 Freddie Sittuk (Raheny Shamrock AC) 69:35, 2 Alan O’Shea (Bantry AC) 69:40, 3 Emmett Dunleavy (Sligo AC) 72:44

M60 David Dinsmore (Mayo AC) 91:45Women 1 Lorraine Carey (Liquid Motion Tri) 83:44, 2 Kathy Gleeson F40 (Claremorris) 85:41, 3 Lucy Brennan F55 (Sligo AC) 85:55,

F50 3, Marcella McDonnell (Mayo AC) 1:54.20,  F60  Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 1:38.15, 3 Mary Murphy (Mayo AC) 1:58.31, F65 1 Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 1:43.59

Among other Mayo AC finishers:  Brendan Hession 81:17, Neil Carroll 88:20, Sarah Syron 89:00,  Catherine Conway 90:14, Mark Basquille 92:35, Brendan Murphy 94:07, Paul Reynolds 1:40.02, Laura Heneghan 1:41.28, Ambrose Gaughan 1:45.21, Emmet OBrien, 1:46.29, Justin McDonagh 1:47.35, Maria Kneafsey 1:49.05, Ger Fahy 1:49.16, Frank Cloherty 1:49.48, PJ Hall 1:50.40, Yvonne Burke 1:50.41, Donal Tighe 1:50.41, Ann McDonnell 1:50.41, John Nyland 1:50.41,
Trisha Carty 1:52.27, Ann Marie Clarke 1:52.20, Tony Hegarty 153.56, Eddie Sweeney 1:55.10,  Kelly Coyle 1:55.18, Rebecca McHugh 1:57.02, Ailish Lawless 1:58.06, John Geraghty 1:58.42, James Murtagh 1:58.57, Erika Ryan 1:59.20, Gerry Corley 2:00.09, Yvonne Coyne 2.02.33, Bernie McHugh 2:02.53, Carmel Cloherty 2:03.30, Ann Marie Shortt 2:05.45, Christy O’Malley 2:06.34, John McNamee 2:07.10, Pauline Jennings 2:08.24, Geraldine Murphy 2:08.45, Pawel Lach 2:09.08, Emma Murphy 2:10.06,  Karen Devaney 2:11.39, Siobhán Ryan 2:13.46,  Noelle Kilduff 2:14.49, Pilar Martinez 2:15.00, Patricia Brogan 2:16.42, Seamus Devaney 2:24.33,  Anne Marie O’Cathasaigh 2:24.43, Patricia Nyland 2:35.21.
Results at

Upcoming Events