Ballina 10k – County Championships – results, updated

Senior women medal winners l-r 3rd Serena Tuffy, 1st Norah Newcombe Pieterse, 2nd Colette Tuohy

Ballina AC hosted their annual 10k on Friday evening July 19.

In conjunction with Mayo Athletics County Board the event incorporated their 10k road championships, with Mayo club runners competing for championship medals.

Conditions were wet and humid throughout the evening. The course started alongside Sruthán na mBróg on the Killala road, and finished on Tone St near race HQ at Scoil Padraig in the town centre.

Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) was the clear race winner crossing the line in 32:01, and Norah Newcombe Pieterse (Mayo AC) claimed the women’s County title with an excellent 37:38 finish time in 8th place overall. Norah was the first of Mayo AC’s fifteen finishers and was closely followed home by Tom Prendergast 37:52 1st o45, Tony O’Malley 38:40 2nd o45, Colette Tuohy 40:21 2nd senior woman, and Darren Brewer 40:15.  All Mayo AC finishers will receive points in the club league tables when they are updated.

The other finishers were: Pauline Moran 42:08 1st o55, Paula Donnellan 44:51 3rd o35, Anthony Corbett 45:54, Owen Mongan 46:45 2nd o55, Sheelagh McDonnell, 46:48, Ann Marie Clarke 48:33, Deirdre Corcoran, 48:48, Claire Murphy 49:42, Raymond Clarke 49:42, Elaine Hession 50:48.

Mayo AC men’s team were third : Tom Prendegast, Tony O’Malley, Darren Brewer. The women’s team were first Norah Newcombe Pieterse, Colette Tuohy, Pauline Moran.

Congratulations to the county 10k championships individual and team medal winners and well done to all finishers.

Mayo Athletics County Board 10k road Championships medal winners were presented by Liz Murphy Secretary Co Board :

Race winner Hugh Armstrong leads the field out at the start






County 10k category winners.

Men: Senior 1 Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) 31:31, 2, Brendan Conway (Westport AC) 33:42, 3 John Courell  (Ballina AC) 34:01 PB

o35 1 Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) 36:04, 2 Eoin McLoughlin 36:26,  3 Ivan Kelly (Ballina AC) 36:30

045 1 Tom Prendergast (Mayo AC) 37:52, 2 Tony O’Malley (Mayo AC) 38:40, 3 Garrett Bracken (Westport AC) 38:52

o55  1 Mattie Coleman (Ballina AC) 41:50, 2 Owen Mongan (Mayo AC) 46:45, 3 Alan Harkin (Ballina AC) 49:17

o65 1 Michael Courell (Ballina AC) 53:51


Senior 1 Norah Newcombe Pieterse (Mayo AC) 37:37, 2 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 40:21, 3 Serena Tuffy (Ballina AC) 41:08

o35 1 Dalva McPhillips (Westport AC) 41:53, 2 Shelly O’Neill (Westport AC) 43:32, 3 Paula Donnellan (Mayo AC) 44:51

045 1 Agnes O’Hora 49:54, 2 Michelle Traynor 52:37, 3 Catherine Kenny 53:53

o55  1 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 42:08, 2 Ann Mullins (Ballina AC) 56:11

o65 1 Nora Masterson 70:38

Junior men: 1 Leo Hopkins 40:34

Junior women: 1 Gillian Gallagher 53:14

Teams: Men: 1 Ballina AC ,  2 Westport AC ; 3 Mayo AC

Women: 1 Mayo AC,  2 Westport AC, 3 Ballina AC

Well done to host club Ballina AC – their organising team was led by Ann Egan and Liz Murphy.

Results from Perfect Timing: (103 finishers)

Upcoming Events