Balla 10k Full results – VIDEO- Re​port – Photo​s

The 19th Annual Balla 10k, Race 4 in the C&C Cellular Mayo AC Road
League, took place on Saturday evening. Conditions were tough – warm, calm and humid. This traditional value for money race, has an extensive prize list; no mean achievement in these lean times.
There was an excellent turnout with over 250 runners and walkers participating.

(Picture:  l-r Matt Bidwell (GCH) 2nd, Michael Canty (Ballina AC) 3rd, Sean Gallagher (Ballina AC) 1st o40, Owen Byrne (GCH) 5th)

Colm Naylor has kindly put together a video of the finish line in Balla. Just click on the link below.


As usual the undulating Balla course (recently accurately measured
with an adjustment of 140 metres plus ) provided a real challenge.
Martin Conroy (Sligo AC) was the clear winner in 32.30 . The Ballina
man won the first race in the League at Kilmovee. “They don’t come any tougher”, was his comment on the Balla race. He was 13 secs ahead of Carramoe 10k winner Matt Bidwell (GCH).
Michael Canty (Ballina AC) ran strongly in 3rd place.

Ailish Kelly (Raheny Shamrock AC)  headed the women’s field all the way winning in 37.11. League leader Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) showed she is in great form –  2nd in 37.22 and she is now well on the way to a
record 4th League title. She was followed in third place by clubmate Colette Tuohy in 40.20

There were many outstanding performances and personal bests and a strong showing of Fit4Lifers.  Angela O’Connor once again confirmed her great comeback this year in 4th 40.20. Likewise Sarah Syron added another to her list of PBs with a strong finish for 42.33. Good to see PJ Hall too back on the road (44.23) after his 12 ascents of the Reek in the recent record breaking challenge.

With under 6 weeks to go to the National Half marathon on 3rd September, longer training runs will be included in the build up and both Balla and Swinford will help as a form guide.

The next race in the League follows next Sunday 31st July, Swinford 8k.

Provisional Results : [Download not found]

PRIZEWINNERS Balla10k:  Sat July 23rd 2011
Mayo AC Road Race League  Race 4

1 Martin Conroy, Sligo AC       32.30
2 Matt Bidwell  GCH               32.43
3 Michael Canty  Ballina AC     33.52
4 Brian Furey, Dublin     33.59
5 Owen Byrne, Galway City Harriers  34.42

Junior Men:
1 Hugh Armstrong, Ballina     36.34
Over 40 Men:
1 Sean Gallagher, Ballina A.C.    36.18
2 Andy Spencer, Wexford.   36.46

Over 50 Men:
1 Billy Gallagher,  Mayo AC   38.31
2 Greg McCormack, USA.     39.21

Over 60 Men:
1 Tom Hunt, Mayo AC    40.40
2 Michael Courell, Ballina AC   48.37
1 Ailish Kelly, Raheny Shamrock AC    37.11
2 Mary Gleeson, Mayo AC   37.40
3 Colette Tuohy, Mayo AC   40.20
4 Angela O’Connor,  Mayo AC   40.38
5 Kathy Connolly, Mayo AC    42.11

Over 40:

1 F40 Kathleen Barry 43.29
2 Regina Flanagan,  Galway       44.54
3 Gwen Daly, Ballinrobe,     45.00

Over 45:
1 Maura Dervan,   Mullingar Harriers     42.48
2 Chris Gallagher, Mayo AC    43.09

Over 50:
1 Una McGrath,  Mayo AC.    51.15

2 Mary Murray, Mayo AC     55.50

Pictures below show John Lavin (664) battles to the finish with Damian Coleman (601)
and Paul McCarthy (765) leads Sheila O’Hora (250)


Upcoming Events