Athletics Ireland National 10k results, Norah wins bronze W40

As noted here earlier in the week National 10k results which were referenced on Sunday and Monday were provisional.

Athletics Ireland have validated the results and they involve some changes in individual and team medals.

Part of the footnote posted on Monday said that the validated results would

“ensure no one athlete can score in 2 teams for medals:
i.e: you cannot score in the Senior team and then on a Masters team.
We only filter out for the medal positions Gold, Silver and Bronze.”
The principle happy outcome is that Norah Newcombe Pietrese wins bronze in W40 category in 37:04..
In the 2019 National 10k she won W35 bronze running 37:11! –  and led the W35 team to silver.
Congratulations Norah!
We now have four individual medal winners as Norah’s bronze W40 joins Angela silver W55, Pauline gold W65 and Mags gold W70.
Colette Tuohy who was one of our three unlucky 4th place finishers on Sunday earned a well-deserved gold as part of our winning W50 team.
She ran a brave race despite not being able to train for the previous two weeks due to a niggling injury – typical Colette!
Also not forgetting performance of the day by Martina O’Connor who followed Norah home in a 37:58 PB, and John Byrne’s excellent return to form
clocking 35:30.
Some of our team placings have changed due to the ‘terms and conditions’ that have been applied as outlined above.
National 10k results:
Revised Mayo AC team placings:
Senior Women: 6th/17:  Norah Newcombe Pieterse 37:04, Martina O’Connor 37:58, Donna Gallagher 42:33 – 1:57.34

W35 team 11th/27: Paula Donnellan Walsh 43:45, Eimear Fitzmaurice 44:13, Dee Finnegan – 2:12.53

W50 1st/11:  Angela O’Connor 41:57, Colette Tuohy 43:36, Pauline Moran 44:01 – 2:09.33

Senior Men: 18th/25: John Byrne 35:30, Tony O’Malley 37:39, Andrew Hayes 39:00, Richie Hanley 41:10  – 2:32.18

M35: 28th/31: Damien Finnegan 40:22, Andy Neary 41:55, Brendan Murphy 42:44 – 2:05.01

M50: 13th/13:,Ambrose Gaughan 44:20 Tom Jennings 49:27, Jimmy Feeney 53: 25 – 2:27.11.

Dunboyne photos : leading finishers Norah Newcombe Pieterse and John Byrne on the road ; Andrew Hayes and Damien Finnegan


Upcoming Events