An excellent day for Mayo AC at West of Ireland Castlebar Women’s 10k (updated)

Race winner Ellen Moran GCH at 6k mark

The 11th Annual West of Ireland Women’s 10k took place today (May 1) in Castlebar. It was the first edition of the event since 2019 and a welcome return for this unique celebration of women in sport.

Three recent 10k races at Charlestown,Tubbercurry and Kilmovee gave some runners an opportunity to test their race pace.

The race start and finish is at the Mall. The course heads out the Pontoon Road and turns off at 5k to cross through some challenging climbs on Curradrish Road to return to town via the killer climb at Knockthomas at 8/9k and on into the ‘false-flat’ of Main St.

Finishers were cheered to the line by an excited crowd of supporters and friends who lined the route around the Mall. As usual the post-race atmosphere at the Mall was full of adrenaline fuelled exhuberance.


Met Eireann forecast a mostly cloudy day with outbreaks of rain but it was dry in Castlebar and eleven degrees C  – a perfect day for running

There was a good turnout of 18 Mayo AC competitors who enjoyed the brilliant atmosphere and support, including music en route providing a fitting rhythm to accompany this annual sporting celebration.

Ellen Moran GCH (from Aughagower) recorded a well deserved victory leading all the way to finish in 36:57.

Sinéad Whitelaw Mullingar Harriers AC came home second

Ballina native Sinéad Whitelaw (Mullingar Harriers AC) was second in 37:48. She won the Kilmovee 10k recently in 38:25.

Norah Newcombe Mayo AC on her way to third place

Our first finisher was Norah Newcombe Mayo AC in third – 38:03.

She was second in 2015 (37:14) and third 2016 (37:51). Norah returned to racing a month ago with an win in Cloonacool 5k in 18:45.

Sarah Byrne Mayo AC finished 5th in 40:05, her best time of 4 recent 10ks

Sarah Byrne continued her recent brilliant run of 10ks at Charlestown, Tubber and Kilmovee with her best finish time this year in 40:05.

The course record was never threatened – it is held by Sinéad Diver (Mayo AC)  who won the race in 2016 in 35:27 though Laura Shaughnessy (DSD) came close in 2017 in 35:41.

Other Mayo AC among the top 30 were (gross times as above):

10 ColetteTuohy 41:55 first F50

11 Martina O’Connor 42:02

13 Angela O’Connor 42:28

14 Paula Donnellan 44:09

18 Ann McDonnell 45:44 pb

21 Deirdre Corcoran 45:54

22 Lucy Tuohy 46:12

23 Donna Gallagher 46:57

26 Mags Glavey F70 47:25

Breege Cribbin 54:54

Patricia Ryder 56:47

Edel Feeney 57:49

Regina Kiernan 58:26

Yvonne Coyne 60:10

Patricia Nyland 63:51

Samantha Hughes 74:17

Colette McTigue no time given


Top 6:

1 Ellen Moran GCH 36:57

2 Sinéad Whitelaw Mullingar Harriers AC 37:48

3 Norah Newcombe (Mayo AC) 38:03

4 Aoibhín Flatley Swinford AC 38:23

5 Sarah Byrne Mayo AC 40:05

6 Serena Tuffy Ballina 40:32

Congratulations to all the Mayo AC prizewinners and finishers – brilliant running!

Well done also to members who volunteered to help the organisers with marshalling duties and as pacers.

Results: (695 listed finishers)’s_mini_marathon/4387/results

We will post an album of photos from the event later.

Upcoming Events