7th Annual Run for Boylo results

and they’re off …down by the riverside

The Run for Boylo 10/5k races took place today in excellent conditions, starting and finishing by the banks of the river Moy in Foxford. The rain held off and over 400 runners and walkers were able to enjoy the two events, 176 in the 10k and 286 in 5k. There was a wonderful thirty plus turnout from Mayo AC again this year and a number of members were among the prizewinners.

The 10k winner was Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) in 33:08, almost two minutes outside Matt Bidwell’s course record. Seamus Somers (Sligo AC) showing excellent form was a steady second in 33:27 – he won his first National medal in Dublin last week, bronze M40. Clubmate David Kearins was third in 36:53.

Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) was another 2018 National 10k medallist in action, putting in a fine run to finish second in the women’s race and 10th overall in 39:28. Winner Maeve Gallagher (Swinford AC) sat in behind her until after half way and had 20 seconds to spare at the finish. Mari Johnston (W50 Sligo AC) came home third again this year (40:56) – she won gold W50 last week in the National 10k. Well done to our other prizewinners – David Dinsmore and Mags Glavey who won the 60+ categories again, and Brendan Hession who won the 5k race in 18:41.

Congratulations to all Mayo AC finishers today – their times will be listed when the Club League tables are posted later and any personal bests achieved will also get bonus points. Club League tables will also include points allocated for all finishers and pbs in last week’s National 10k.

Welcome to Peter Feerick who joined us from Lake District AC during the current transfer window and ran today: 44:09. He is one of three transfers who will officially join the club on May 1.

The event was well organised as usual with great support by local sponsors.  Proceeds will be distributed among a number of charities. Look out for photos which will be added to our facebook pages.

The next Mayo AC Vodafone C&C Cellular Club League race is the Ballinrobe 5k on Tuesday June 5 at 8pm.

Prizewinners:  Sunday April 22, 7th Annual ‘Run for Boylo’ 10k & 2018 Mayo AC Vodafone C&C Cellular  Club League Race 4, 10k/5k results at www.myrunresults.com

Men 1 Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) 33:09, 2 Seamus Somers  (Sligo AC) 33:28, 3 David Kearins (Sligo AC) 36:54

Women 1: Maeve Gallagher (Swinford AC) 39:08, 2 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 39:28, 3 Mari Johnston (Sligo AC) 40:56

M50 1 Peter Hynes  (Swinford AC)  38:50

W50 1: Roseanne Mitchell (Sligo AC) 46:44

W60 1 Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 47:40

M60 1 David Dinsmore (Mayo AC) 41:54

Junior M: Ryan Herbert 48:51, Anna Yeates (Swinford AC) 50:13


Mayo AC group at Run for Boylo



Run for Boylo 5k: (286 finishers)

Men  1 Brendan Hession (Mayo AC) 18:41, 2 Tadgh Staunton 19:05,  3 Darragh Staunton  20:34

Women 1 Ciara McDermott  20:03, 2 Serena Tuffy 20:35, 3 Deirdre Medlar 22:25

Also Mayo AC: Ann Murray 23:06, Maria Kneafsey 24:47

Congratulations to our two finishers in today’s London Marathon: Matthew Gill 3:22.21 (half 1:29.28), and Clive Lavelle 3:59.55 (half 1:45.32).

Upcoming Events