5k Series: Castlebar results

The third race in 2015 Mayo AC Vodafone 5k Series took place at Castlebar this evening. Conditions were good as summer came out of hiding at the weekend. The Lough Lannagh circuit is recognized as probably the most challenging in the 5k series, with subtle gradients and short sharp shocks above the lake. Unlike last year there has been different winners in the first two races, but Sean Murphy, Kathy Gleeson and Mary Gleeson have each been on podium in both of them. This changed at Castlebar as Mayo AC’s David Tiernan and Colette Tuohy won for the second time. Sean Murphy is showing great form, as is Mary Gleeson returning to racing – both finishing second (men/women). Good to see a big Mayo AC/Fit4Life turnout again, as well as other local clubs, including Sligo AC who had 4 in the top twenty and others well up among the 195 finishers.

Well done to the Castlebar organisers.

First three: (Mayo AC unless stated)

Men: 1 David Tiernan 17:20, 2 Sean Murphy 17:54, 3 Philip Hunter (Sligo AC) 18:10

Women 1 Colette Tuohy 19:12 2 Mary Gleeson 19:19 3 Julie Kearney 20:52

Results as usual on www.precisiontiming.net

The next race is at Ballinrobe Tuesday 16th June, at 8pm. It’s a flat fast one lap course. Registration at Soccer Club from 6:30pm. Please arrive early and bring your bib number if you’ve already entered for remaining races.




Upcoming Events