Brickens 5k updated, Ballinrobe results

The fourth race in 2015 Mayo AC Vodafone 5k Series took place in Ballinrobe this evening. Temperatures locally were 14c as the field started out. There were 227 finishers, and once again a good selection of local club runners competing. Finishing times were generally the fastest so far in the Series as many achieved personal bests on the flat course.  Sean McLoughlin led them home in 16:07, while Colette Tuohy was first woman – another series race win in 18:27. Well done to all the finishers and well done to Joan Walsh and the organising Ballinrobe team.

First three:

Men 1 Sean McLoughlin (Westport AC) 16:07; 2 Tadgh McGinty (Swinford AC) 16:40; 3 David Tiernan (Mayo AC) 17:02.

Women: 1 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 18:27; 2 Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) 19:00; 3, Kathy Gleeson 19:14


The final 5k series race is at Brickens next Tuesday, June 23rd at 8 pm. Registration from 6:30 at Community Centre, entry 10 Euro. Bring your bib number if you’ve entered at previous races. We’re expecting another big turnout so please arrive early at registration and help the organisers with parking and pre race arrangements.
Parking, changing, showers available at Eastern Gaels GAA.

The course at Brickens has been changed from last year. It has recently been officially measured and AAI approved, and is over an out-and-back route.

The Series After Party is at Flanagan’s Gastro Pub. €5 per head starting at 9pm.

Upcoming Events