50th Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k






With only a few days to go to the 50th Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day Road Race organisers South Sligo AC have reminded us that the first ever winner of the Tubbercurry 10k Danny McDaid (aka ‘the flying postman’) from Letterkenny (No. 9 in the peaked cap in the photo) will be opening this year’s race to mark its 50th year.

Danny represented Ireland in the 1972 Munich & 1976 Montreal Olympic Games in the Marathon.
The Tubbercurry 10k with a similar route profile to National 10k in Phoenix Park will be ideal preparation for that championship competition on April 16.
The Tubbercurry 10k has always been popular with members, with many enjoying prizewinning success over the years.
Also South Sligo AC have posted some memory lane photos to commemorate the event, including these two with Mayo AC connections

Three Mayo AC prizewinning stalwarts with their trophies in Annie Killoran’s race HQ l-r Paddy Murray, Owen Mongan, Tommy Neville

Billy Gallagher – a regular Tubbercurry 10k competitor with winner’s trophy – year?

South Sligo AC say ‘Register now – this is a race not to be missed.
More information here including registration link

Upcoming Events