4th Kilmovee 10k run/walk results

winner Con Marshall (St Finbarr's AC) leads John Mannion (Roscommon AC) 3rd, and Aiden Callaghan (Letterkenny AC) 2nd at the 9k mark

Race winner Con Marshall (St Finbarr’s AC) leads John Mannion (Roscommon AC) 3rd, and Aiden Callaghan (Letterkenny AC) 2nd, at the 3k mark

There was a brilliant turnout on a sunny but chilly Easter Saturday for the 4th Kilmovee 10k run and walk, excellently organised by Kilmovee Shamrocks GAA club and the local Community in aid of Mayo/Roscommon Hospice.  (See ‘on the road at Kilmovee’ below for more photos) A good breeze cooled  faces as the field crossed overAghadiffen Bridge into Roscommon after 3k. Apart from a slight hill at 9k this is a relatively flat course, but it does not necessarily guarantee fast finishing times. Con Marshall (M35) led out with John Mannion and Aidan Callaghan close behind. As the race progressed the Cork man, pushed ahead and established a 17 seconds winning gap at the tape. His finish time was two minutes outside Martin Conroy’s 2012 effort. Brendan Gill was the leading Mayo AC finisher in 4th, less than a minute behind Marshall and he was 1st M35. Mary Gleeson was first woman once again and was unchallenged all the way. However, she was a bit disappointed with her time – almost a minute slower than 2012. Paula Prendergast underlined her recent brilliant form at Tubbercurry with another PB, finishing second in 39:23 – nearly a minute faster. There was another great run from the amazing Lucy Brennan (W50) 40:23 for 3rd, holding off Ann Lennon (1st o45)  in 4th by 7 seconds. Breege Blehein ran strongly – her trademark long stride took her home in 6th and 2nd o45. Elsewhere there was a good sprinkling of Mayo AC members (including F4L) throughout the field: Cormac Langan 39:55, Hugh Duffy M50 41:34, Colm Cleary 42:26, PJ Hall (M50) 44:59, John Geraghty (M40) 47:04, Laura Heneghan 47:10, Aileen Shaw (C’bar F4L) 48:09, Christy O’Malley (M45) 48:13, Michael Carney (C’bar F4L) 48:39, Eileen Donnellan (B’haunis M&T) 51:48, Geraldine Heneghan (C’morris F4L) 64:31, Mary Henry (B’haunis M&T) 66:28.

A number of members must be keeping their powder dry for the National 10k in two weeks. Another very successful day for the energetic Kilmovee community – well done to John Roddy and his team for all their hard work. This event has established itself as the first big race of the year in Mayo. While many take part for charitable purposes, the standard of finish times is consistently good with over 30% under 50 minutes again this year.

List of prizewinners (complete results file is attached below).

2013 4th Annual Kilmovee 10k Provisional Results Summary (399 finishers)
Senior Men
1: Con Marshall  (St Finbarr’s AC) 34.47
2: Aidan Callaghan (Letterkenny 24/7 Triathlon Club) 35.02
3: John Mannion (Roscommon AC) 35:24

Women's winner Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) starting out

Women’s winner Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) starting out

Senior Women
1: Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) 37.54
2: Paula Prendergast (Mayo AC) 39.23
3  Lucy Brennan (Sligo AC) W50 40:29

Men over 35
1:  Brendan Gill (Mayo AC) 35.36
2:  David Tiernan (Charlestown) 37:44

Women over 45

1: Ann Lennon (Mayo AC) 40:36
2: Breege Blehein (Mayo AC) 43:37
Women over 50 1: Bernadette Morris 51:58; 2: Bernie McHugh (Fit4Life Claremorris) 52:18

Men over 50
1 Tommy Neville (Ballina AC) 38:32
2 Trevor Hunter (Sligo AC) 39:47

Junior Men winner Jonathan Deane (left)  with 2nd placed Tadgh McGinty

Junior Men: winner Jonathan Deane (left) setting out with 2nd placed Tadgh McGinty

Junior Men 1 Jonathan Deane 37:41 2 Tadgh McGinty(Swinford AC) 38.06
Junior Women 1:Mary Horan (Kilmovee) 53:44 2 Hannah Duffy (Charlestown) 55:48

Schools Competition –  Michael McDonnell Memorial Trophy won by St Joseph’s, Charlestown

Full Results: click here   Kilmovee10km_2013

Upcoming Events