42nd Tubbercurry 10k results

Conditions were perfect for the 42nd Tubbercurry 10k hosted by South Sligo AC, cool but not chilly at start, and warming up for a pleasant sunny afternoon. There was a record field of 320 including separate 5k, an initiative to facilitate the host club’s ‘Couch to 5k’ participants. This race has always been well supported by local clubs – 16 listed this year.
Emmett Dunleavy (Sligo AC) recorded yet another fine win in 32:23. John Byrne led the Mayo AC contingent home in second 35:21, gently easing his way through the field to shake off the effects of his winning Duathlon efforts on Saturday. Brendan Gill was next home in 7th 36:05, showing good form with recent track training in his legs. Sara Doohan (Corran AC) easily won the women’s race in 37:59. There were 75 of the 190 10k finishers under 45 minutes. Our own Michael McNeela was one in 41:39, closely followed by Tom Hunt 1st o60 in 42:22. Ann Murray was 1st o50 in 46:12, Chris O’Connell 49:31 and Christy O’Malley 53:40. Mayo AC were 3rd team.
In the 5k  Catherina Diskin Hunt (Mayo AC) 29:08,  and Kathleen Kennedy (Claremorris Fit4Life) 30:07. Well done both.

As usual, there was a great buzz around race founder Ann Killoran’s Teeling St HQ, before and after the race, where she and husband Tommy made sure everyone was well refreshed, as they have done every year since 1974. Well done too to excellent hosts South Sligo AC who organised the event.
Just over 2 weeks to Move 2 Improve first race Kilmovee 10k 4 April, and over 3 to National 10k 11 April – both listed on events calendar.

results www.precisiontiming.net

Upcoming Events