2022 Fields of Athenry 10k results

Seven Mayo AC finishers at Athenry l-r Ray, Sean, Paula, Johnny, Dee, Tony, Colette










Athenry AC hosted their annual fundraiser the Fields of Athenry 10k on St Stephen’s Day). It was the 20th edition of this popular event which started in 2002.

All finish times shown are ‘race time’ – finish order.
This year’s winner was Finley Daly Sligo AC in 30:46, 2nd Jamie Fallon Craughwell AC 30:53
3rd Mick Clohissey Raheny Shamrock AC 30:57.
Hugh Armstrong Ballina AC still holds the course record –  29:32 in 2019
Eight men have won the race over the 20 editions of the event.
The women’s winner was Ellen Moran GCH 18th overall in 35:39 33:49, almost two minutes outside Sligo AC’s Aoife Kilgallon 2021 course record 33:49.
2 Kate Kelly Athlone Running Club 35:55, 3 Catherine Thornton GCH 36:03
Well done to Mayo AC’s nine finishers today – (same as last year)

The same seven including the legs they used!

Great running finishing 16th overall by Sean Hynes 34.50 (34.48) pb; he ran 38:29 last year, so a massive improvement and adding to his recent 5k pb! And also by in-form Eamonn Joyce 17th 34.59 (34.57) pb
Tadhg Hanrahan M40 37.06 (37.03)
Ray Clarke M50 41.02 (40.57) pb
Paula Donnellan Walsh 2nd W40 41.37 (41.30)
Johnny Cribbin 2nd M60 41.46 (41.40)
Tony O’Malley M50 42.07 (42.04)
Colette Tuohy 2nd W50 42.49 (42.44)
Dee Corcoran W45 43.51 (43.46) pb – 46:06 in last year’s race .
2022 results 1129 finishers:

Upcoming Events