2021 Fields of Athenry 10k results

FoA finishers Pawel Ziembik with Arkadiusz Skupin GCH

Athenry AC hosted their annual fundraiser the Fields of Athenry 10k today (St Stephen’s Day). It was the 19th running of the increasingly popular event which started in 2002 – like many races it was not held in 2020. And this year’s race was held under current Covid-19 guidelines. Basically turn up, run, go home.

All finish times shown are ‘race time’ – finish order.
This year’s winner for the eighth time was Mick Clohissey Raheny Shamrock AC 30:46, 2 Jamie Fallon Craughwell AC 31:23, 3 William Fitzgerald Craughwell AC 31:26.
Clohissey’s finish time was well outside the course record held by Hugh Armstrong who ran 29:32 in 2019.
Seven men have won the race over the 19 editions of the event.
The women’s winner was Aoife Kilgallon Sligo AC 18th overall in 33:49, a brilliant run breaking Breege Connolly’s course record of 34.42 set in 2019.
2 Kate Kelly Athlone Running Club 37:01, 3 Catherine Thornton Crusaders AC 37:24.
Aoife Kilgallon has had a fantastic year and recently ran a 33:48 pb in Belfast. She becomes the 14th winner of the women’s race. Mayo AC women won three times- Catherine Conway twice 2008/2010 and Norah Newcombe 2014.
Well done to Mayo AC’s nine finishers today (10 in 2019) : Anto Devaney led them across the line in 37:41 – 4th o45,  Tadgh Hanrahan 37:50, Sean Hynes 38:29, John Brennan 38:39, Pawel Ziembik 38:40, Tony O’Malley 40:32, Ray Clarke 41:18 a new pb beating his Easkey 10k time last September by eight seconds, Ann Lennon 42:55 and first o55, Dee Corcoran 46:06.
Any omissions or corrections will be updated.

Upcoming Events