2018 National 10k results – well done to our team in the Park

John Nolan just before 7k mark, was our first finisher today 38:04

It was an early start for our team of  twenty runners who committed to represent us and compete in the 2018 National 10k Championships in the Phoenix Park this morning. Racing conditions were fair though chilly. It was a grey showery morning with an occasionally fresh south-east wind blowing into faces at the start and finish of the one lap course.  However, there was a colourful array of vests from clubs nationwide on display making for a bright and competitive atmosphere.

As usual it is the hills along Military Road and Upper Glen Road in the final 5k that makes this race of two halves a challenging task as energy seeps away over the final kilometres.

The separate starts – 11 o’clock for women and 11:20 for men make it an honest event and takes care of any pacing issues. Just five of our 2017 finishers were in the starting line-ups alongside many   competing in this event for the first time. We had four teams in action, two 35+ and two 50+, but sadly no seniors again this year.

They all put in a great effort and we should have some women’s individual (Colette, Pauline, Mags and Mary) and W50 team medals when results are finalised. AI finishing places will be based on gun time.

Colette Tuohy leading the way to a 39:24 finish

John Nolan (M45) ran a great time 38:04 to be our first runner across the finish line. Colette Tuohy (W45)  ran over twenty seconds faster than last year and like many found the final 2k tough. She was our first women finisher in 39:24.  David Dinsmore (M60) was another in great form cutting a 20 seconds off his 2017 time in 42:13. There’s also probably some PBs to report – all the better achievement on this tough course.

Right through our twenty strong team there was honest endeavour, enjoyment and pride to be seen on Mayo AC faces.

Congratulations and well done to all our finishers today.


They will all get well deserved bonus points in the 2018 Vodafone C&C Cellular Club League.

(results/times from great run data , We’ll update tomorrow when Athletics Ireland publish

O35 Men

Tony O’Malley M45 40:08

Emmet O’Brien M45 44:41

Darren Brewer M40 40:24

John Nolan M45 38:04

Anthony Corbett M35 47:05

John Nyland M45 47:16

035 Women

Colette Tuohy W45 39:24

Maria O’Connor W35 52:41

Patricia Nyland W45 63:41

Paula Donnellan W35 48:11

050 Men

Thomas Jennings M50 42:56

Stephen Skillington M50 43:25

Eugene McCartan M50 52:36

David Dinsmore M60 42:13

050 Women

Ann Murray W50 47:57

Breege Blehein W50 46:30

Mags Glavey W65 47:18

Pauline Moran W60 44:24

Mary Murphy W65 54:30

Senior Women – Cliona Finn 54:48

Upcoming Events