11th Annual Turlough 8k report, Mayo AC finishers

This is a report from Frank Cloherty race organiser of the 11th Annual Turlough 8k which took place on Sunday February 12.

“Beautiful mild early Spring conditions greeted the large attendance of
runners, joggers and walkers at The National Museum of Ireland at
Turlough Park for the 11th annual hosting of the ever popular Turlough
An amalgam of Parke Keelogues Crimlin GAA, Parke Keelogues Crimlin
LGFA, Mayo AC, The National Museum of Ireland at Turlough Park & Mayo
Mental Health Association partnered to promote this event.
Mayo AC are a welcome additional event partner this year of 2023.

A large crowd gathered near the starting line at midday to
respectfully observe a minute’s silence in memory of the founding
member and Chairperson of Mayo Mental Health Association PJ Murphy who
was a great supporter of the event over many years.  Sadly, PJ went to
his eternal reward on Saturday evening.  Go mbeidh leaba i measc na
naomh agus na n-aingeal aige.

The challenging 8k course starts and finishes in the beautiful grounds
of Turlough Park, passes by Turlough Round Tower and on towards the
undulating countryside of the Parke and Turlough townlands, returning
via Turlough Village to the finish line at beautiful Turlough House.

Race conditions were favourable for establishing course records and
some valiant attempts were made by some of the almost 400 entrants
taking part.

Participants travelled from near and far and prizes were awarded to
various categories as follows:

Seamus Somers, Sligo AC led the field home in a very impressive time
of 26.51. He ran an exceptionally impressive race and only narrowly
missed out on the course record held by local running legend and
current Mayo AC Club chairperson John Byrne.
Rowland McIntyre, Mayo AC was second in a time of 28.51.
Pearse Gallagher, Swinford AC was 3rd in 29.20

Local lady Sarah Byrne, Mayo AC made a very impressive Turlough 8K
debut  coming home 1st in a time of 31.57
Roxanne Sands, Moy Valley AC came a close 2nd in 32.12.
Gracie O’ Brien, Moy Valley AC who is also a great local competitor
with PKC LGFA was 3rd in 33.06

In the Female Masters competition, the 1st lady home was Jo Hughes in
34.12, Marcella McDonell, Mayo AC was 2nd in 40.40 and Veronica Woods,
Swinford AC 3rd in 42.02

In the Male Masters Garret Bracken, Westport AC was 1st in 31.40,
David Sands, Liquid Motion was 2nd in 32.38 and Raymond Clarke Mayo AC
ran well for 3rd in 33.17.

The female U18s was won by Pearl Sands, Moy Valley AC in 36.11
Isabelle Hanrahan, Castlebar AC finished 2nd in 37.25 and local PKC
LGFA player Caoimhe Harte was 3rd in 45.21

The 1st Male U18 home was Matthew Kelly, Castlebar AC in 32.02.
Matthew plays his football very well with PKC GAA.  2nd place in this
category went to another local footballer Kyle Davitt in 35.27  Kyle
showed his battling qualities  and kept going. Aidan Dempsey,
Castlebar AC was 3rd in 36.45

Congratulations to all who placed and all who participated.

Niall Dunne from Mayo Mental Health Association spoke to the gathering
assembled in the courtyard for post-race refreshments and
congratulated all for turning out in such great numbers.
He said that a positive approach to physical health is closely
aligned to establishing and maintaining good mental health.

Séamus O’ Donnell from The National Museum of Ireland at Turlough Park
expressed his warm welcome for the large turnout from the local
community and further afield.

Event organiser Frank Cloherty thanked all event partners who assisted
in ensuring that the 1st live Turlough 8K event since 2019 was a great

Thanks to Frank Cloherty for his report and well done to him and his team for organising a successful event.
Apart from those listed above among prizewinners, these are the other Mayo AC finishers – a great turnout:
Andrew Hayes 30:00
Wesley Hurst 33:11
Damien Finnegan 33:41
Edel Reilly 34:32
Eimear Fitzmaurice 34:57
Pat Carolan 35:08
Dee Corcoran 35:32
Greg Barry 35:54
Tom O’Brien 36:19
Tom Jennings 36:28
Gillian Hanrahan 37:27
Donna Gallagher 37:29
Sheelagh McDonnell 37:30
Tom McNicholas 37:37
Lorraine Henaghan 38:53
James Murtagh 41:12
Martin Parsons 43:27
Regina Kiernan 47:45
Patricia Ryder 48:56
Yvonne Coyne 49:07
Maureen Costello 55:45
Christine Coll 56:31
Catherine McHale 56:31
Linda Creagh 59:43



Congratulations to prizewinners Sarah Byrne, Marcella McDonnell, Ray Clarke and well done to all of our finishers – some great times there!
Full results of the race are at https://www.mayoac.com/turlough-8k-results/



Upcoming Events