10th Annual Kilmovee 10k results

Some happy Mayo AC finishers at Kilmovee






The Kilmovee community celebrated their 10th Annual10k in aid of Mayo Roscommon Hospice and Kilmovee Shamrocks GAA on Saturday afternoon. Community spirit and brilliant local organization came together once again on a lovely April day, providing all those taking part with a wonderful sporting occasion.

Racing conditions were excellent – calm and dry for the record numbers of runners and walkers on this flat course which has one short uphill section in the final kilometre at Kilcashel. The race was promoted as ‘the flattest 10k in Ireland’ when inaugurated in 2010.

The race winner was Ray Hynes (Donore Harriers) in 32:49 just outside the course record of 32:00 set in 2017 by Gary Thornton (GCH). Ray also won in 2018. He was just under a minute ahead of Alan Kelly (Ballina AC ) in second place 33:46 with Brendan Conway (Westport AC) third in 34:15.

The first woman finisher was Edel Reilly (Hollymount ) in 39:34.

Our W50 National 10k gold medal winner Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) was second in another great time 39:45 with Sarah Syron  (Mayo AC) an excellent third in 40:06, and Angela O’Connor 42:27 and Paula Donnellan 44:30 were next across the line in fine form.

Carnacon 8k winner John Higgins was our first finisher – 5th overall in 35:52  with W50 winner Tom Prendergast 37:44 and Tony O’Malley 38:08 close behind.

There was a great turnout from the club and some personal best finish times – well done to all and congratulations to the prizewinners.

It was the third event in the 2019 Mayo AC Club League, and points achieved by  club members who competed will be added to tables and published soon.

Provisional Results: (finish time, chip time in brackets)

Provisional Results Kilmovee

Senior Men 1: Ray Hynes  (Donore Harriers ) 32:49 2:  Alan Kelly (Ballina AC) 33:46(33:45) 3: Brendan Conway (Westport  AC) 34.15(34.14)

Senior Women 1 Edel Reilly (Hollymount) 39:34(39.30) 2: Colette Tuohy  (Mayo AC) 39:45(39.42) 3  Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 40:06(40.03)

Men over 35 1: Sean Burke  Tuam AC) 35:32(35.30) 2: Dwayne Flynn 35:59(35.56)

Women over 35 1: Ciara Duffy 41:45(41.45); 2 Paula Prendergast 44:25(44.22)

Women over 50 1 Angela O’Connor 42:27(42.22), 2 Mary Crowe 43.31(43.31)

Men over 50 1 Tom Prendergast 37:44(37.42),  2 Garret Bracken 38:20(38.17)

U18 Junior Men 1 Rory Gallagher 39:52(39.51); 2 Rory Callaghan 41:57(41.45)

U18 Junior Women 1 Rachel Lawlor 47:15(47.06)

Teachers Competition –  Michael McDonnell Memorial Shield Trophy was won by Bill Carty (Sligo AC) of Killavil National School who finished in 38:20(38.19).

Other Mayo AC finishers included :   Michael McNeela 41:35(41.35), Andrew Hayes 42:06(42.03), Ambrose Gaughan 42:02(41.56), James Malone 42:19(42.12), John Kelly 43:46(43.42), Paula Donnellan 44:30(44.27),  Mick Shaw 44:57(44.45), Anthony Corbett 45:26(45.18), Jimmy Feeney 45:47(45.40), Damien Finnegan 46:18(46.12), Sheelagh McDonnell 46:50(46.44), John Nyland 46:57(46.50), Ann McDonnell 47:24(47.17),  Ann Marie Clarke 47:45(47.38), Justin McDonagh 48:21(48.05),  Claire Murphy 48:28(48.23), Elaine Hession 48:53(48.48), Marcella McDonnell 50:29(50.25),   Paul Damron 49:20(49.05), Edel Feeney 49:36(49.29), Martin Fitzmaurice 50:18(50.10), Philip McGoldrick 50:52(50.36),  Monica Joyce 51:10(50.55), Noelle Kilduff 51:28(51.22), Bernice McCartan 52:41(52.36), Finian Joyce 54:53(54.38), Anne Cunnane 60:00(60.00), Catherina Diskin Hunt 60:23(60.11), Patricia Nyland 61:44(61.24), Patricia Waldron 60:50(60.31)

Well done John and Lorraine who pushed the Geraghty twins around the 5k course. Angela O’Connor’s daughter Martina (Castlebar AC) was first woman in 20:13. 5k winner was Shane Moran 18:32.

The next club league event is Run for Boylo 10k in Foxford next Sunday April 28.

Upcoming Events